Applicable Acts and Regulations

Overview of Applicable Acts and Regulations

Oil and gas activities on First Nation reserve lands across Canada are governed by a number of federal and provincial acts and regulations. Companies wishing to explore and develop reserve lands are encouraged to become familiar with the applicable Federal Acts and Regulations.

As a special operating agency, Indian Oil and Gas Canada administers legislation as well as develops and enforces regulations related to Indian Oil and Gas activities. Aboriginal and Northern Affairs Canada has a broader mandate and is responsible for the following:

All of the government’s Acts and Regulations can be found on the Justice Canada website.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting With Canadians websites.

Contacts and Questions

If you would like to obtain more information or request an information session, please visit the IOGC Contact Us page.

Additional Information

Caution

The lists provided under the Federal Legislation and Provincial Legislation links are not meant to be exhaustive lists of the legislative and regulatory framework governing oil and gas activity on First Nation reserve lands.

Date modified:

Lois et règlements en vigeur

Vue d'ensemble des lois et règlements applicables

Des lois et des règlements fédéraux et provinciaux régissent les activités pétrolières et gazières sur les terres des réserves des Premières nations au Canada. Les entreprises qui désirent explorer et exploiter les ressources des terres des réserves sont invitées à se familiariser avec ce cadre de réglementation.

À titre d'organisme de service spécial, Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada administre des textes de loi, élabore et fait appliquer des règlements reliés aux activités pétrolières et gazières des Indiens relevant d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, ministère responsable des éléments présentés ci-dessous.

L'ensemble des lois et des règlements du gouvernement sont publiés sur le Site Web de la législation (Justice).

Pour des plus amples renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Personnes-ressources et questions

Si vous désirez obtenir d’autres renseignements ou demander la tenue d’une séance d’information, visitez la page « Contactez-nous » de notre site Web.

Renseignements disponibles

Avertissement

Les listes présentées sous les liens de la législation fédérale et de la législation provinciale ne sont pas des listes exhaustives des lois et des règlements du cadre législatif et réglementaire qui régit les activités pétrolières et gazières sur les terres des réserves des Premières nations.

Date de modification :