Federal Acts and Regulations

Companies must comply with a number of federal acts, regulations, guidelines, and interpretation bulletins when exploring and developing Indian lands. Examples of applicable federal legislation include:

Indian Act

The federal statute that, since 1876, has embodied most of the federal law concerning Indian people. It deals with many aspects of Indian life and includes matters dealing with land administration and designations.

Indian Oil and Gas Act

The federal statute, since 1974, which governs the exploration and development of hydrocarbons on Indian lands.

Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995

The federal regulatory framework which governs the exploration and development of oil and gas resources on-Reserve.

Canadian Environmental Assessment Act

In the context of oil and gas companies operating on Indian reserves, this federal statute requires companies to submit environmental assessments of projects. Public consultation is required in preparing these assessments. Indian Oil and Gas Canada reviews these environmental assessments prior to approving the projects.

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

The federal statute that controls the manufacture, storage, transportation, use and disposal of designated substances and biologic materials that may pose danger to human life, health or environment.

Fisheries Act

The federal statute which applies where there may be harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat as a result of oil and gas activity. This Act is particularly relevant to pipeline development.

Authorization from the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) is required where a proposed project is likely to result in a loss in the productive capacity of fish habitat.

Navigable Waters Protection Act

The federal statute governs the protection of navigable waters.

Authorization from the Canadian Coast Guard is required where a project is likely to interfere with the navigation of a waterway.

Financial Administration Act

In the context of monies owing as a result of oil and gas activities on Indian reserve lands, this federal statute addresses the administration and collection of these monies.

First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act

The federal statute that provides First Nations with the option of managing and regulating oil and gas exploration and exploitation on their reserve lands and of receiving moneys otherwise held for them by Canada.

Saskatchewan Treaty Land Entitlement Act

The federal statute in respect to the Saskatchewan Treaty Land Entitlement Framework Agreement entered into on September 22, 1992, and the Nekaneet Treaty Land Entitlement Settlement Agreement entered into on September 23, 1992, pursuant to which Canada's outstanding treaty land entitlement obligations are to be fulfilled in respect of those bands that are parties to these Agreements.

Claim Settlements (Alberta and Saskatchewan) Implementation Act

The federal statute that facilitates the implementation of those provisions of First Nations' claim settlements in the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan that relate to the creation of reserves or the addition of land to existing reserves.

Federal Real Property and Federal Immovables Act

The federal statute respecting the acquisition, administration and disposition of real property and immovables by the Government of Canada. This act is used in conjunction with the Indian Act for grants of easements.

Species At Risk Act

The federal statute that protects individual species listed in Schedule 1 of the Act as well as their residences and critical habitats.

Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994

The federal statute that protects migratory birds and their nests.

Lois et règlements fédéraux

Les entreprises doivent respecter un certain nombre de lois, de règlements, de directives et de bulletins d'interprétation fédéraux lorsqu'elles explorent les terres indiennes et en exploitent les ressources. Les lois fédérales potentiellement applicables sont notamment les suivantes :

Loi sur les Indiens

Texte législatif fédéral qui, depuis 1876, englobe la plus grande partie de la législation fédérale au sujet des Indiens. Cette loi traite de nombreux aspects de la vie des Indiens, notamment l'administration et la désignation des terres.

Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes

Texte législatif fédéral qui, depuis 1974, régit la recherche et l'exploitation des hydrocarbures sur les terres indiennes.

Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes

Cadre fédéral de réglementation qui régit la recherche et l'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz dans les réserves.

Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale

Texte législatif fédéral qui prévoit que toutes les entreprises pétrolières et gazières qui exercent leur activité dans les réserves indiennes présenteront des évaluations environnementales de leurs projets. Une consultation publique est requise au cours de la préparation de l'évaluation. PGIC examine ces évaluations avant d'approuver les projets.

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Texte législatif fédéral qui régit la fabrication, l'entreposage, le transport, l'utilisation et l'élimination de substances désignées et de matériel biologique qui pourraient constituer une menace pour la vie humaine, la santé ou l'environnement.

Loi sur les pêches

Texte législatif fédéral qui s'applique lorsqu'il pourrait y avoir danger d'altération, de perturbation ou de destruction d'un habitat du poisson, en conséquence d'une activité. Cette loi est particulièrement pertinente dans le cas des pipelines.

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) doit octroyer une autorisation lorsqu'un projet proposé est susceptible d'entraîner une réduction de la capacité de production d'un habitat du poisson.

Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables

Texte législatif fédéral qui régit la protection des eaux navigables.

La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) doit octroyer une autorisation lorsqu'un projet est susceptible de nuire à la navigation sur un cours d'eau.

Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques

Texte législatif fédéral qui traite de l'administration et de la perception des sommes dues en conséquence des activités pétrolières et gazières dans les réserves indiennes.

Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières nations

La loi fédérale que vise à donner aux Premières Nations la possibilité de gérer et de réglementer l'exploration et l'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz de leurs réserves ainsi que de recevoir les fonds que le Canada détient pour elles.

Loi sur les droits fonciers issus de traités en Saskatchewan

La loi fédérale concernant l'accord-cadre sur les droits fonciers issus de traités en Saskatchewan conclu le 22 septembre 1992, et l'accord de règlement avec la bande Nekaneet conclu le 23 septembre 1992, en vertu de laquelle seront remplies les obligations en souffrance du Canada en matière de droits fonciers issus de traités à l'égard des bandes parties à ces accords.

Loi sur la mise en oeuvre de mesures concernant le règlement de revendications (Alberta et Saskatchewan)

La loi fédérale facilitant la mise en oeuvre des dispositions des règlements de revendications des premières nations en Alberta et en Saskatchewan qui ont trait à la création de réserves ou à l'adjonction de terres à des réserves existantes.

Loi sur les immeubles fédéraux et les biens réels fédéraux

La loi fédérale concernant l'acquisition, la gestion et le mode de disposition d'immeubles et de biens réels par le gouvernement du Canada. Cette loi est appliquée de concert avec la Loi sur les indiens pour les besoins des octrois de servitudes.

Loi sur les espèces en péril

La loi fédérale protégeant les espèces énoncées dans l'annexe 1 de celle-ci, ainsi que leur résidence et leur habitat essentiel.

Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs

La loi fédérale protégeant les oiseaux migrateurs et leurs nids.

Date de modification :