Provincial Acts and Regulations

Section 4 of the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 requires companies to comply with all relevant provincial laws, unless otherwise agreed to by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and specified in a contract granted under the Regulations. The relevant provincial laws are specified as: being applicable to non-Indian lands; relating to the environment or to the exploration, development, treatment, conservation or production of oil and gas; and not conflicting with the Indian Oil and Gas Act or Regulations.

Provincial legislation that companies may be required to comply with includes:

Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act

The provincial statute which is aimed at supporting and promoting the protection, enhancement, and wise use of the environment in Alberta. IOGC uses the standards set out in the Regulations under this Act for surface reclamation after oil and gas activities on reserve lands in all provinces.

Mines and Minerals Act

The provincial statute which applies to all mines and minerals and related natural resources vested in or belonging to the Crown in right of Alberta, and where the context permits or requires, to all wells, mines, quarries, and minerals in the province.

Oil and Gas Conservation Act

The provincial statute which deals with the conservation of oil and gas resources in Alberta. The statute also deals with the observance of safe and efficient practices in the locating, spacing, drilling, equipping, completing, reworking, testing, operating and abandonment of wells and operations for the production of oil and gas.

Similar acts and regulations exist in other provincial jurisdictions.

Date modified:

Lois et règlements provinciaux

L'article 4 du Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes prévoit que les entreprises respecteront toutes les lois provinciales pertinentes, sauf disposition contraire convenue avec le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord canadien et précisée dans un marché adjugé en conformité du Règlement. Par lois provinciales pertinentes, on entend celles qui sont applicables aux terres non indiennes et qui ont trait à l'environnement ou à l'exploration, à l'exploitation, au traitement, à la conservation ou à la production de pétrole et de gaz, pour autant qu'elles ne s'opposent pas à la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes ou à son règlement d'application.

Les lois provinciales potentiellement applicables pour les entreprises sont notamment les suivantes :

Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act (site Web non disponible en français)

Texte législatif provincial qui vise à appuyer et à promouvoir la protection, l'amélioration et l'exploitation judicieuse de l'environnement en Alberta. PGIC utilise les normes énoncées dans le Règlement afférent à cette loi pour la remise en état du terrain à la suite d'activités pétrolières ou gazières sur les terres des réserves de toutes les provinces.

Mines and Minerals Act (site Web non disponible en français)

Texte législatif provincial qui s'applique à l'ensemble des mines, des minéraux et des ressources naturelles connexes dévolus à la Couronne du chef de l'Alberta ou qui lui appartiennent, et si le contexte le permet ou l'exige, à l'ensemble des puits, des mines, des carrières et des minéraux de la province.

Oil and Gas Conservation Act (site Web non disponible en français)

Texte législatif provincial qui traite de la conservation des ressources pétrolières et gazières en Alberta. Cette loi traite aussi du respect de pratiques súres et efficaces lorsqu'il s'agit de localiser, d'espacer, de forer, d'équiper, de terminer, de réparer, d'essayer, d'exploiter et d'abandonner un puits ainsi que de produire du pétrole et du gaz.

Des lois et règlements semblables existent dans d'autres provinces.

Date de modification :