Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is IOGC and what does it do?

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) is a regulatory agency within Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) responsible for managing and administering the exploration and development of crude oil and natural gas on First Nation reserve lands.

IOGC's specific responsibilities are to:

  • identify and evaluate oil and gas resource potential;
  • encourage companies to explore for, drill and produce these resources through leasing activity;
  • ensure equitable production, fair prices and proper collection of royalties; and
  • secure compliance with and administer the regulatory framework in a fair and equitable manner

Q: How many people work at IOGC?

As of March 31, 2013, IOGC had 88 employees, with 45 percent of Aboriginal descent.

Q: Does IOGC keep a percentage of the First Nations revenue (royalty, bonus, rents & access fees) that it collects, or charge a fee to First Nations?

No. All funds collected on behalf of First Nations are placed in their trust accounts. IOGC does not keep any percentage nor does it charge a fee to First Nations.

Q: What happens to the First Nation revenues collected by IOGC?

100 % of moneys collected by IOGC on behalf of First Nations are deposited into regional Trust Fund Accounts administered by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC). These are either capital moneys (royalty and bonus), or revenue moneys (rents and access fees) and the moneys are deposited into their capital or revenue accounts accordingly. Moneys are accessed by Band Council Resolution.

There are certain administration fees charged by IOGC for processing applications from companies. These amounts of revenue are sent to the Receiver General for Canada.

Q: Which lands are IOGC responsible for?

IOGC is responsible for all First Nation reserve lands across Canada designated for oil and gas, and surrendered and unsold reserve lands. This includes a number of reserves in the Northwest Territories. They all come under the Indian Act, so their minerals come under the Indian Oil and Gas Act.

Q: Who owns the oil and gas rights on First Nation lands?

Where subsurface rights are part of an Indian reserve, the title to the subsurface rights, including oil and gas, is held in the title of Her Majesty the Queen and managed in trust for the respective First Nation.

Q: What role does a First Nation have in the development of oil and gas on their reserves?

This depends on the role that each First Nation chooses to play. Some First Nations are very involved in all aspects of their oil and gas development, while others are not. In general, the First Nation works with the company and IOGC to explore and develop their oil and gas resources.

Q: How can IOGC be sure that a well drilled just outside the boundaries of an Indian reserve is not draining oil or gas from the First Nation?

IOGC can never be sure, because the extent of an oil and gas pool is never known for certain as it is deep below the surface. If IOGC suspects that a pool being produced by an off-reserve well may extend onto Indian lands then IOGC will take the appropriate steps to protect the First Nation's interests. This would include trying to lease available lands with the aim of getting a well drilled or in the case of leased lands, serving a notice on the lessee to drill a well or surrender their mineral lease rights.

Q: To whom are cheques made payable?

Make all cheques payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

Q: When is the deadline for royalty payments?

Royalty payments are due the 25th of every month following production, unless otherwise specified within the terms and conditions of the lease.

Q: Who administers other Federal lands in the provinces?

Petroleum Resources Branch, Natural Resources Canada (located in Ottawa).

Foire aux questions

Q : Qu'est que PGIC, et quel est son mandat?

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) est un organisme de réglementation qui relève d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) et qui est chargé de gérer et administrer la prospection et l'exploitation du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel sur les réserves indiennes.

Plus précisément, PGIC est chargé :

  • de reconnaître et d'évaluer les réserves potentielles de pétrole et de gaz;
  • d'encourager les entreprises à prospecter et à forer pour découvrir ces réserves, ainsi qu'à les exploiter, en louant les terres;
  • de s'assurer que la production est équitable, que les prix sont justes et que les redevances sont payées;
  • d'administrer le cadre de réglementation et de s'assurer qu'il est respecté d'une façon juste et équitable.
Q : Combien de personnes travaillent pour PGIC?

PGIC a 88 employés (à la date du 31ème mars 2013), dont plus de 45 % sont d'origine autochtone.

Q : PGIC garde-t-il un pourcentage des revenus qu'il perçoit pour le compte des Premières nations (redevances, primes, loyers et frais d'accès), ou impose-t-il des frais aux Premières nations?

Non. La totalité des fonds recueillis par PGIC au nom des Premières nations est déposée dans leurs comptes en fiducie. PGIC ne garde aucun pourcentage et ne fait payer aucuns frais aux Premières nations.

Q : Qu'arrive-t-il aux revenus perçus par PGIC?

La totalité des sommes perçues par PGIC au nom des Premières Nations est déposée dans des comptes de fonds en fiducie administrés par Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC). Les sommes, selon leur nature, sont versées aux comptes de capital (redevances et primes) ou aux comptes de revenu (loyers et frais d'accès) de la Première nation concernée. Une Première Nation peut accéder aux sommes administrées par AANC par résolution de son conseil de bande.

PGIC impose des frais d'administration aux entreprises pour le traitement de leurs demandes. Ces sommes sont envoyées au receveur général du Canada.

Q : Quelles sont les terres dont est responsable PGIC?

PGIC est responsable de terres indiennes partout au Canada qui ont été désignées pour l'exploitation de pétrole et de gaz, ainsi que de celles qui ont été cédées et non vendues. Cela comprend un certain nombre de réserves situées dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Elles relèvent toutes de la Loi sur les Indiens, et donc leurs ressources pétrolières et gazières relèvent de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes.

Q : Qui possède les droits pétroliers et gaziers sur les terres indiennes?

Si les droits d'exploitation du sous-sol font partie de la réserve indienne, les titres en sont détenus par Sa Majesté, y compris ceux du pétrole et du gaz, et gérés en fiducie pour la Première nation concernée.

Q : Quel rôle joue une Première nation dans l'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz sur sa réserve?

Cela dépend du rôle que la Première nation a choisi de jouer. Certaines Premières nations participent de près à toutes les étapes de l'exploitation, et d'autres non. Toute entente doit être approuvée par la Première Nation par l’entremise d’une résolution du conseil de bande.

Q : Comment PGIC peut-il être certain qu'un puits installé juste à l'extérieur des limites d'une réserve n'est pas en train de pomper le pétrole appartenant aux Autochtones?

On ne peut jamais être certain, car on ignore l'étendue exacte d'un gisement de pétrole ou de gaz, toujours situé très profondément. Si on a des raisons de croire que le gisement exploité hors de la réserve s'étend jusque dans le sous-sol des terres indiennes, alors PGIC fera ce qu'il faut pour protéger les droits de la Première nation concernée. Par exemple, PGIC essaiera de louer les terres disponibles pour qu'on y fore un puits, ou, si les terres sont louées, il demandera au locataire de forer un puits ou de céder ses droits miniers.

Q : À qui doivent être adressés les chèques?

Tous les chèques doivent être faits à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

Q : Quelle est la date limite pour payer les redevances?

Les redevances sont dues au plu tard le 25e jour du mois suivant la production, à moins qu'il n'en soit indiqué autrement dans les conditions du bail.

Q : Qui administre les autres terres fédérales dans la province?

La Direction des ressources pétrolières de Ressources naturelles Canada (située à Ottawa).

Date de modification :