Indian Oil and Gas Canada at a Glance . . .

Who We Are

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) is a special operating agency that is responsible for managing and regulating oil and gas resources on First Nation reserve lands across Canada.

IOGC currently manages the oil and gas resources of more than 45 First Nations with active oil and gas agreements. Our activities include collecting oil and gas moneys on behalf of First Nations; 100 per cent of moneys collected on behalf of First Nations are deposited in their trust accounts.

IOGC Co-Management Board, which includes First Nation, industry and Crown members, provides guidance on our strategic direction and operations.

Our offices are located on the Tsuu T’ina Nation reserve adjacent to the southwest quadrant of Calgary. With more than 80 staff almost half are of Aboriginal descent, we are committed to delivering excellence in service.

What We Do

IOGC assists First Nations with designated reserve lands in the oil and gas process through the following activities:

IOGC works closely with Chiefs and Councils. Band Council approval is required for all deals.

Our Mandate

August 2015

Life Cycle of Oil and Gas Agreements on First Nation Reserve Lands

1. Land for Leasing

Prior to leasing, IOGC confirms reserve title to the land and verifies that the lands are designated,which allows IOGC to manage the First Nation’s oil and gas resources.

Land at Halfway River First Nation, British Columbia.

2. Subsurface Agreements

Subsurface agreements enable First Nations to gain economic benefits from their oil and gas resources. Subsurface agreements provide oil and gas companies with rights to drill and to produce oil and gas and, in return, the companies pay royalties and other compensation. IOGC assists the First Nation to reach agreements with companies and also ensures fair returns before IOGC and the First Nation approve the agreement. IOGC drafts, issues and administers the agreements and collects oil and gas royalties, bonuses and rents from companies on behalf of the First Nation.

Drawing of a well drilled into a subsurface formation.
Courtesy of Centre for Energy (formerly Petroleum Communication Foundation).

3. Seismic Programs

Exploratory licences provide companies with surface access to conduct seismic activity. A company must submit an environmental review form, as part of the exploratory licence application, to IOGC and the First Nation. IOGC collects compensation for the exploratory work from companies on behalf of the First Nation

Drilling rig for seismic shot holes at
Big Island Lake Cree Territory, Saskatchewan.

4. Surface Agreements

Surface agreements provide companies with the right to construct the necessary surface facilities to access and produce the oil and gas. Surface agreements are issued for items such as well sites, access roads or the installation of pipelines. A company must submit an environmental review form to IOGC and the First Nation, as part of its surface lease or right-of-way application. IOGC ensures that environmental protection standards are met before IOGC and the First Nation approve the agreement. Additionally, companies must conduct ongoing environmental monitoring during construction and operation phases. IOGC administers the agreements and collects initial considerations and annual rents from companies on behalf of the First Nation.

Construction of surface site on
Bigstone Cree Nation lands, Alberta.

5. Drilling Wells

Prior to drilling a well, a company must: have a subsurface lease; obtain a surface lease; submit a provincial well licence to the First Nation and IOGC; and notify the First Nation and IOGC that it plans to drill the well. IOGC collects drilling information from companies for statistics and other purposes, such as helping with IOGC’s interpretation of the geology under the reserve.

Drilling rig on Stoney
Nation lands, Alberta.

6. Production

IOGC monitors and evaluates all aspects of oil and gas production from drilling to abandonment. For example, IOGC ensures that production occurs in a sound environmental manner and that oil and gas production is properly measured and reported. IOGC ensures that oil and gas royalties are calculated accurately through assessments and audits. IOGC collects royalties on behalf of the First Nation.

Oil tanks at a First
Nation reserve in Alberta.

7. Well Abandonment

When a well can no longer produce sufficient oil or gas economically, a company may wish to abandon it. A company requires written permission from IOGC, in consultation with the First Nation, to abandon a well.

Simplified drawing of cement plug
in abandoned wellbore. Not to scale.

8. Surrenders of Subsurface Agreements

Companies that no longer wish to have a subsurface agreement (or part thereof) must submit a surrender request to IOGC. IOGC reviews all surrender requests in consultation with the First Nation. IOGC will process and execute the surrender if the company is not in default of any part of the agreement or the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995. Any wells on the terminated subsurface lease must be abandoned.

9. Surrenders of Surface Agreements (Remediation and Reclamation)

Before IOGC will consider a surface surrender, companies must abandon any wells, remove any facilities, conduct remediation if necessary and reclaim the area. The surrenders of surface agreements are approved by IOGC following confirmation, by inspection with the First Nation, that reclamation is satisfactory.

Reclaimed site of former access
road on Siksika Nation lands, Alberta.

 

Moneys Cycle
Description of Moneys Cycle

Oil and gas moneys earned by First Nations from companies operating on their reserve lands are initially collected by Indian Oil and Gas Canada on behalf of First Nations. All oil and gas moneys are deemed to be either capital moneys (including royalties and bonuses) or revenue moneys (including rentals and considerations). The funds collected by IOGC then flow to the First Nation Trust Fund Accounts administered by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) for their respective communities.

First Nations can gain access to their revenue or capital moneys for the use and benefit of their communities by the signing of a Band Council Resolution to that effect.

Our Current Operations

IOGC currently manages the oil and gas resources of over 45 First Nations with active oil and gas agreements. These agreements are located on more than 110 reserves across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. IOGC also monitors First Nations reserve lands across Canada for hydrocarbon potential. There are about 3,000 First Nation reserves in Canada.

IOGC manages a high level of oil and gas activity on First Nation lands. IOGC has collected more than $ 1 billion over the last seven years on behalf of First Nations. Oil and gas development by First Nation-owned companies accounts for an estimated 25 percent of IOGC’s leasing and land holdings.

Our History

In the 1950s, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), then Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), established the Indian Minerals unit, which was responsible for all oil, gas and mineral rights on First Nation reserves throughout Canada. In the late 1970s, the Indian Minerals unit was split into Indian Minerals East and Indian Minerals West, which were responsible for oil, gas and mineral resources in eastern and western Canada, respectively.

IOGC was established in 1987, replacing Indian Minerals West, as a dedicated branch within AANDC to manage oil and gas resources on First Nation reserves across Canada and to further First Nation initiatives to manage and control their oil and gas resources. In 1993, IOGC was affirmed as a special operating agency to increase its client focus.

A Board of Directors, known as the IOGC Co-Management Board, was established in 1996 by the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and the Indian Resource Council (IRC). The IRC is an organization representing more than 180 First Nations across Canada with oil and gas interests.

Statutory Authorities

IOGC operates pursuant to the Indian Oil and Gas Act and the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995. It also operates pursuant to provisions of other federal legislation such as the Indian Act, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, and the Financial Administration Act, in addition to other relevant legislation.

Oil and gas development on First Nation reserve lands has been legislated since 1974 under the Indian Oil and Gas Act and, before that, under the Indian Act. In 1977, theIndian Oil and Gas Regulations were revised and brought under the Indian Oil and Gas Act from the Indian Act. The regulations were revised again in 1995, mostly to provide for increased First Nation participation.

As a result of an overall review of its operations, IOGC identified a need, in 1998, to update and modernize the Indian Oil and Gas Act. After years of work, An Act to amend the Indian Oil and Gas Act received Royal Assent in May 2009 and will come into force when updated Regulations are ready. Related amendments to the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations are in the process of being developed.

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100, 9911 Chiila Boulevard
Tsuu T'ina, AB T2W 6H6
Indian Oil and Gas Canada
Phone: 403-292-5625
Fax: 403-292-5618
E-mail: contactIOGC@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Coup d'œil sur . . . Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada

Qui nous sommes

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) est un organisme de service spécial chargé de gérer et de réglementer les activités liées aux ressources pétrolières et gazières dans les réserves des Premières nations du Canada.

PGIC gère actuellement des ententes de gestion de ressources pétrolières et gazières avec plus de 45 Premières Nations. Nos activités consistent notamment à percevoir les recettes pétrolières et gazières au nom des Premières Nations; 100 p. 100 des sommes collectées au nom des Premières Nations sont déposées dans leurs comptes de fiducie.

Conseil de cogestion de PGIC, qui réunit des représentants des Premières Nations, de l’industrie et de l’État, fournit des orientations sur notre direction stratégique et nos opérations.

Nos bureaux sont situés sur les terres de la réserve de la nation Tsuu T’ina, adjacente au secteur sud-ouest de Calgary. Nous disposons d’un effectif de plus de 80 personnes, dont plus de la moitié sont d’origine autochtone, et nous mettons l’accent sur l’excellence du service.

Notre travail

PGIC aide les Premières Nations qui possèdent des terres de réserve désignées à gérer leur processus pétrolier et gazier en menant les activités suivantes :

PGIC travaille en étroite collaboration avec les chefs et les conseils des Premières Nations. Toutes les ententes doivent être approuvées par le Conseil de bande.

Notre mandat

Août 2015

Cycle de vie des ententes pétrolières et gazières sur les terres de réserve des Premières nations

1. Terres à louer

PGIC confirme le titre de réserve des terres avant que celles ci ne soient louées et vérifie que les terres sont correctement désignées, ce qui lui permet de gérer les ressources pétrolières et gazières des Premières nations.

Terres de la Première Nation
de Halfway River, en Colombie-Britannique.

2. Ententes d'exploitation souterraine

Les ententes d’exploitation souterraine permettent aux Premières Nations de tirer des avantages économiques de leurs ressources pétrolières et gazières. Les ententes d’exploitation souterraine donnent aux compagnies pétrolières et gazières des droits de forage et de production du pétrole et du gaz et, en retour, les compagnies payent des redevances et d’autres indemnités. PGIC aide la Première Nation qui le souhaite à conclure une entente et veille à ce que le rendement soit équitable. PGIC rédige les ententes, les conclut et les administre après qu’elles ont été approuvées par la Première Nation et par l’organisme. En outre, PGIC recueille les redevances pétrolières et gazières, les primes et les loyers des entreprises au nom de la Première Nation.

Dessin d’un puits foré dans une formation souterraine.
Reproduit avec la permission du Centre for Energy
(anciennement Petroleum Communication Foundation).

3. Programmes sismiques

Les permis d’exploration donnent aux entreprises un droit d’accès en surface pour effectuer des activités de prospection sismique. Une entreprise doit joindre un formulaire d’examen environnementale à la demande de permis d’exploitation qu’elle remet à PGIC et à la Première Nation. PGIC recueille, au nom de la Première Nation, les indemnités versées par les entreprises pour leurs activités d’exploration.

Appareil de forage de trous de
prospection sismique sur la réserve
Big Island Lake Cree Territory, en Saskatchewan.

4. Ententes de superficie

Les ententes sur la superficie donnent aux entreprises le droit de construire les installations de surface nécessaires pour accéder au pétrole et au gaz et pour l’exploiter. Des ententes sur la superficie sont conclues pour des éléments tels que les sites de puits, les chemins d’accès et l’installation de pipelines. Une entreprise doit présenter un formulaire d’examen environnemental à PGIC et à la Première Nation dans le cadre de sa demande de bail de superficie ou de droit de passage. PGIC veille à ce que les normes de protection environnementale soient respectées avant que l’entente ne soit approuvée par PGIC et par la Première Nation. De plus, les entreprises doivent prendre des mesures de surveillance environnementale tout au long des étapes de construction et d’exploitation. PGIC administre les ententes et recueille, au nom de la Première Nation, les contreparties initiales ainsi que les loyers annuels versés par les entreprises.

Construction d’un site de surface
sur les terres de la Nation crie de Bigstone, en Alberta.

5. Forage de puits

Avant de forer un puits, une entreprise doit détenir un bail sur le sous-sol; obtenir un bail sur la surface; fournir un permis de forage provincial à la Première Nation et à PGIC, et aviser ces derniers de son intention de creuser un puits. PGIC recueille l’information sur le forage auprès des entreprises à des fins de statistique et à d’autres fins, par exemple pour faciliter l’interprétation, par PGIC, de la géologie du sous-sol de la réserve.

Appareil de forage sur les terres
de la Nation Stoney, en Alberta.

6. Production

PGIC surveille et évalue tous les aspects de la production pétrolière et gazière depuis l’étape du forage jusqu’à celle de l’abandon. Par exemple, PGIC veille à ce que la produc-tion se déroule d’une manière respectueuse de l’environnement et à ce que la production pétrolière et gazière soit convenablement mesurée et déclarée. PGIC veille à ce que les redevances pétrolières et gazières soient calculées avec exactitude, en procédant à des évaluations et à des vérifications. PGIC recueille les redevances pour le compte de la Première Nation.

Réservoirs à pétrole sur une
réserve des Premières Nations en Alberta.

7. Abandon d'un puits

Lorsqu’un puits ne peut plus produire suffisamment de pétrole ou de gaz pour être économiquement viable, une compagnie peut souhaiter l’abandonner. Pour abandonner un puits, l’entreprise doit obtenir l’autorisation écrite de PGIC en consultation avec la Première Nation.

Dessin simplifié du bouchon de ciment
d’un puits abandonné. Pas à l’échelle.

8. Cession d'ententes d'exploitation souterraine

Les entreprises qui ne souhaitent plus détenir une entente d’exploitation souterraine (ou une partie de cette entente) doivent soumettre une demande de cession à PGIC. PGIC examine toutes les demandes de cession en consultation avec la Première Nation. PGIC accepte d’assurer la cession si l’entreprise n’a pas enfreint l’une ou l’autre partie de l’entente ou du Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes. Les puits situés sur les terres visées par le bail d’exploitation souterraine annulé doivent être abandonnés.

9. Cessions d'ententes de superficie (mesures correctives et réclamation)

Pour que PGIC prenne en considération une demande de cession d’entente de superficie, il faut que l’entreprise abandonne les puits, démantèle toutes les installations, prenne les mesures correctives nécessaires et remette la zone en état. Les cessions d’entente de superficie sont approuvées par PGIC après confirmation (à la suite d’une inspection par la Première Nation) que les mesures de remise en état du terrain sont satisfaisantes.

Site restauré d’une ancienne route d’accès
sur les terres de la Nation Siksika, en Alberta.

 

Cycle des fonds
Description du cycle des fonds

L'argent versé aux Premières nations par les compagnies pétrolières et gazières qui ont des activités sur les terres de réserve est initialement perçu par Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada pour le compte des Premières nations concernées. Il s'agit de fonds destinés aux « comptes en capital » (redevances, primes, etc.) ou aux « comptes de revenu » (revenus de location et autres revenus de contrepartie). Les sommes perçues par PGIC sont versés aux comptes fiduciaires des Premières nations concernées, administrés par Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC).

Une Première nation peut avoir accès à son compte en capital ou à son compte de revenu pour les fins de sa collectivité dès lors qu'une résolution du Conseil de bande a été adoptée à cet effet.

Nos activités actuelles

PGIC gère actuellement les ententes d’exploitation des ressources pétrolières et gazières d’une cinquantaine de Premières Nations dans plus de 110 réserves en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. PGIC surveille également le potentiel en matière d’hydrocarbures des terres de réserve des Premières Nations de partout au pays. Il y a environ 3,000 réserves autochtones au Canada.

PGIC gère un grand volume d’activités liées aux ressources pétrolières et gazières sur les terres des Premières Nations. PGIC a recueilli plus d’un milliard de dollars au cours des sept dernières années pour le compte des Premières Nations. L’exploitation des ressources pétrolières et gazières par des entreprises des Premières Nations représente environ 25 % des baux et des avoirs fonciers de PGIC.

Notre histoire

Dans les années 1950, AADNC, puis Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) crée l’Unité des ressources minérales des Indiens, responsable alors de tous les droits pétroliers, gaziers et miniers sur les terres de réserve des Premières Nations du Canada. À la fin des années 1970, l’Unité est divisée en deux : Ressources minérales des Indiens (Est) et Ressources minérales des Indiens (Ouest), responsables, respectivement, des ressources pétrolières, gazières et minières de l’est de l’ouest du Canada.

PGIC est créé en 1987 et remplace Ressources minérales des Indiens (Ouest). Cet organisme spécial d’AADNC a pour mandat de gérer les ressources pétrolières et gazières des réserves des Premières Nations de partout au Canada et de faire progresser les initiatives amorcées par les Premières Nations pour gérer et contrôler leurs ressources pétrolières et gazières. En 1993, PGIC reçoit le statut d’organisme de service spécial et devient davantage axé sur les clients.

Un conseil d’administration, le Conseil de cogestion de PGIC, est créé en 1996 par la signature d’un protocole d’entente entre le ministre d’AADNC et le Conseil des ressources indiennes, un organisme représentant plus de 180 Premières Nations de partout au Canada ayant des intérêts en matière de pétrole et de gaz.

Textes législatifs

PGIC est régi par la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et le Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, ainsi que par les dispositions d’autres textes législatifs fédéraux, dont la Loi sur les Indiens, la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale, la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et d’autres lois et règlements pertinents.

D’abord réglementée par la Loi sur les Indiens, l’exploitation des ressources pétrolières et gazières sur les terres de réserve des Premières Nations est, depuis 1974, réglementée par la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes. En 1977, le Règlement sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes a été révisé et détaché de la Loi sur les Indiens pour être placé sous l’égide de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes. Le règlement a été révisé de nouveau en 1995, surtout pour accroître la participation des Premières Nations.

À la suite d’un examen général de ses activités, PGIC a déterminé, en 1998, que la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes avait besoin d’être mis à jour et modernisée. Après des années de travail, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes a reçu la sanction royale en mai 2009, et entrera en vigueur lorsque le règlement mis à jour sera prêt. Les modifications connexes du Règlement sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes sont en cours d’élaboration.

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boulevard Chiila, bureau 100
Tsuu T’ina (Alberta) T2W 6H6
Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
Tél. : 403 292 5625
Téléc. : 403 292 5618
Courriel : contacterPGIC@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date de modification :