History

Shortly after the discovery of the Leduc oil field in 1947, discoveries were made on the Stony Plain, Pigeon Lake and Stoney Indian reserves in Alberta. As a result of increasing oil and gas activity on Indian lands in western Canada, a minerals specialist was hired and located in Calgary in the mid 1950's. This was the beginning of the Indian Minerals unit, which was then responsible for all oil, gas and mineral rights on Indian reserves throughout Canada.

In the late 1970's, the minerals unit was split into the Indian Minerals (East) and Indian Minerals (West) Offices, which were responsible for hydrocarbon and mineral resources in eastern and western Canada, respectively. Following the recommendations of an All Chiefs Assembly, the Government of Canada established Indian Oil and Gas Canada in 1987 as a special business-oriented agency within Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC).

In April 1993, IOGC was granted Special Operating Agency (SOA) status within INAC. An SOA is a discrete operational unit within government departments designed to promote client-focused service delivery.

Until the early 1990's, IOGC offices were found in the Senator Harry Hays Building in downtown Calgary. Since 1994, IOGC's offices have been located in the Chief Joseph Big Plume Administration Building on Tsuu T'ina Nation lands, adjacent to the City of Calgary.

Histoire

Peu après la découverte du champ de pétrole Leduc en 1947, d'autres découvertes ont été faites sur les réserves indiennes Stony Plain, Pigeon Lake et Stoney, en Alberta. Devant cette augmentation des activités liées au pétrole et au gaz des terres indiennes dans l'ouest du pays, un géologue a été engagé à Calgary dans les années 50. Ainsi est née l'Unité des ressources minérales des Indiens, responsable alors de tous les droits miniers sur les terres indiennes du Canada.

À la fin des années 70, l'Unité a été scindée en deux : un bureau des ressources minérales des Indiens pour l'est du pays, et un autre pour l'ouest. En 1987, suite aux recommandations d'une assemblée de chefs autochtones, le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC), un organisme spécialement orienté vers les entreprises, au sein des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

En avril 1993, PGIC a reçu le statut d'organisme de service spécial (OSS) au sein du AANC. Un OSS est une unité distincte travaillant dans un ministère à la promotion d'une prestation des services axée sur les clients.

Jusqu'au début des années 90, les bureaux de PGIC se trouvaient au centre-ville de Calgary, dans l'édifice Senator Harry Hays. Mais, depuis 1994, ils sont situés dans l'édifice administratif Chief Joseph Big Plume, près de Calgary, sur les terres de la nation Tsuu T'ina.

Date de modification :