ARCHIVED - Update on the Modernization of the Act, Regulations, and Systems (MARS) - Volume 3, Issue 1

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

IOGC Quarterly Newsletter

Reporting Period – April 1st to June 30th, 2013

As reported in the last newsletter, IOGC was pleased to announce the completion of all the Regulatory Drafting Instructions by the end of March, 2013. This involved the preparation of more than 6,600 pages of material for regulatory drafters to review and consider. Most of this material has already been made available for review by First Nations through their representatives on the Joint Technical Committee (JTC-1). The material is highly complex and technical, due to the nature of the oil and gas industry, and this has made the development of a complete set of new regulations by 2014 a considerable challenge. 

Therefore, the department has proposed a phased approach and updated its timelines for completion of the new regulations and is now looking to bring the entire IOGA, 2009 into force, along with a core set of amended and new regulations, towards the end of calendar year 2014. This would provide both the regulatory drafters and First Nations more time to review and consider the large volume of regulatory drafting material.

The new phased approach would include amendments cite> to make them compatible with the IOGA, 2009 plus new regulations in the areas of:

  1. Drainage and Compensatory Royalty;
  2. Sub-surface Tenure;
  3. First Nations' Audit (considered a component of Royalty Management);
  4. reporting requirements to facilitate royalty verification.

There would be immediate benefits to First Nations of bringing the entire IOGA, 2009 into force. These include providing clear authorities for IOGC:

  1. to audit companies operating on First Nation lands;
  2. to establish limitation periods for industry to maintain records for auditing purposes;
  3. to protect First Nation sites of cultural importance;
  4. to order companies to take remedial action under certain circumstances; and,
  5. to issue fines and penalties for offences under the Act or regulations.

After the first phase is completed, the expected sequence for the remaining regulatory modules are currently planned to be:

  1. the remainder of Royalty Management;
  2. Moneys Management;
  3. Surface Tenure;
  4. Exploration;
  5. Environment;
  6. Enforcement; and,
  7. Conservation.

How these modules are packaged and the timeframes for their coming into force will be announced soon.

IOGC is preparing to hold two symposiums with First Nations in the fall of 2013 – one in Alberta and one in Saskatchewan – to explain this new approach as well as the content of this initial set of new and amended regulations. IOGC continues to meet with Chiefs and Councils from individual First Nations when requested.    

The Joint Technical Committee (JTC-1) and the Indian Resource Council (IRC)'s continued support and leadership will be important in getting a more modern regime in place to optimize benefits to First Nations.  Consultation with the oil and gas producing provinces and with industry will continue.

The informatics enhancements to support changes as result of MARS activities continue. Currently, IOGC is preparing a business case for membership and data exchange with PETRINEX, the provincial and industry-recognized authoritative source on hydrocarbon volume and pricing data. Present PETRINEX members include industry, Alberta, and Saskatchewan, with Manitoba and Statistics Canada both in the process of joining.

As reported in the last newsletter, IOGC re-organized effective April 1, 2013 and, because of the amount of change happening at IOGC with the re-organization and the regulatory changes, IOGC recognizes the importance of effectively dealing with the "human" side of change. To that end, IOGC has hired an organizational change management advisor and is preparing to contract additional change management expertise.

IOGC is committed to working with our First Nation partners to modernize the oil and gas regime on First Nation lands and to continue development of new regulations until they are all completed and the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 have been entirely replaced. 

Additional Information:

 

For further information, please contact IOGC at:

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100 - 9911 Chiila Blvd.
Tsuu T'ina AB T2W 6H6
Phone: (403) 292-5625
Fax: (403) 292-5618

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Le point sur la modernisation de la Loi, du Règlement et des systèmes (MARS) - Volume 3, numéro 1

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin trimestriel de PGIC

Période du 1er avril au 30 juin 2013

Comme il a été mentionné dans le bulletin précédent, PGIC est heureux d'annoncer que l'étape d'élaboration des directives de rédaction de la règlementation a été terminée en mars 2013. Pour ce, nous avons dû préparer un document de plus de 6 600 pages aux fins d'étude par les rédacteurs du règlement. La plus grande partie de ce matériel a déjà été soumise à l'examen des Premières Nations par l'intermédiaire de leurs représentants membres du Comité technique mixte (CTM-1). Le document est très complexe et technique en raison de la nature de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière et, donc, l'élaboration d'un nouveau règlement d'ici 2014 s'avère être un défi de taille.

Le Ministère a proposé une approche par étape, mis à jour le calendrier de complétude du règlement, et vise désormais de mettre en vigueur la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2009, ainsi qu'un nouveau règlement, vers la fin de l'année civile 2014. Les rédacteurs du règlement et les Premières Nations auraient ainsi plus de temps pour réviser et étudier la grande quantité de matériel de rédaction règlementaire.

La nouvelle approche par étape comprend une modification du Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes afin de le rendre compatible à la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2009, ainsi que de nouvelles règles concernant :

  1. le drainage et les redevances compensatoires;
  2. les droits tréfonciers;
  3. la vérification des Premières Nations (considérée comme faisant partie de la gestion des redevances);
  4. les exigences en matière de rapports pour faciliter la vérification des redevances.

L'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2009 entraînerait immédiatement des retombées positives pour les Premières Nations, notamment la désignation d'autorités tranchées permettant à PGIC :

  1. de mener des vérifications auprès d'entreprises exploitées sur les terres des Premières Nations;
  2. d'établir des délais de prescription pour les entreprises en ce qui a trait à la tenue de dossiers à des fins de vérification;
  3. de protéger les sites d'importance culturelle des Premières Nations;
  4. d'obliger les entreprises à prendre des mesures correctives dans certaines situations;
  5. de donner des amendes et sanctions pour des infractions en vertu de la Loi ou du règlement.

Après la première étape, l'ordre de mise en œuvre des modules réglementaires restants devrait être comme suit :

  1. le reste de la gestion des redevances;
  2. gestion des fonds;
  3. droits de superficie;
  4. exploration;
  5. environnement;
  6. application de la loi;
  7. conservation.

Nous annoncerons sous peu comment ces modules seront regroupés ainsi que quand ils seront en vigueur.

PGIC se prépare à tenir, à l'automne 2013, deux colloques avec les Premières Nations, soit un en Alberta et un autre en Saskatchewan, pour expliquer cette nouvelle approche et le nouveau contenu initial du règlement. PGIC continuera de rencontrer des chefs et des conseils de Premières Nations, à la demande.

Le soutien continu et le leadership du Comité technique mixte et du Conseil des ressources indiennes (CRI) seront des facteurs importants à la mise en place d'un régime plus moderne visant à optimiser les retombées positives pour les Premières Nations. En outre, nous poursuivrons aussi les consultations auprès des provinces productrices de pétrole et de gaz et de l'industrie.

Nous continuons les améliorations informatiques à l'appui des changements découlant des activités de MARS. À ce jour, PGIC prépare une analyse de rentabilité liée à l'inscription ainsi que des échanges de données avec PETRINEX, l'autorité reconnue à l'échelle de la province et de l'industrie en ce qui a trait aux données sur le volume et le prix des hydrocarbures. Les membres actuels de PETRINEX comprennent l'industrie, l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan; le Manitoba et Statistique Canada sont en cours d'inscription.

Comme indiqué dans le dernier bulletin, PGIC a subi une réorganisation en date du 1er avril 2013; dû à la quantité de changements en cours à PGIC en raison de la réorganisation et des modifications au règlement, l'organisme reconnaît l'importance de bien gérer la composante « humaine » de tout changement. Il a donc embauché un conseiller en gestion du changement organisationnel et s'apprête à avoir recours aux services d'autres experts dans ce domaine.

PGIC s'engage à travailler avec des partenaires des Premières Nations pour moderniser le régime de gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières sur les terres des Premières Nations et pour poursuivre l'élaboration du nouveau règlement jusqu'à ce qu'il soit terminé et remplace le Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes.

Renseignements supplémentaires :

 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec PGIC à :

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boul. Chiila, bureau 100
Tsuu T'ina (Alberta) T2W 6H6
Téléphone : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur : 403-292-5618

Date de modification :