ARCHIVED - A Statement on Hydraulic Fracturing from Indian Oil and Gas Canada

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

What is hydraulic fracturing?

Hydraulic fracturing technology – commonly referred to as fracking or fracing – is a process, used since 1947, to enhance oil and gas production.  It involves injecting fluid and sand at high pressure into rock formations to create and prop open cracks ("fractures" or "fracs") in petroleum bearing rock. The fluid can contain additives used to perform specific functions.  For example, one ingredient ensures that operating equipment remains sterile and free of unwanted bacterial growth that could clog up sensitive equipment and instruments. After a fracking operation is completed and the sand has been placed in the formation, about 40% of the carrying fluids flow back through the well where it is collected, and either reused or processed for safe disposal.

How is hydraulic fracturing regulated on First Nations reserve lands?

Though research and data collection are on-going, to date none of the major oil and gas producing provinces (Alberta, Saskatchewan, and BC) have placed a moratorium or ban on hydraulic fracturing based on evidence currently available.

The Federal Government and Environmental Protection on First Nation Lands

The federal government is ultimately responsible for environmental protection on reserve lands as well as the health of First Nations citizens living on reserve. Thus, IOGC is responsible for safeguarding both the environment on reserve, as well as protecting First Nations citizens from adverse effects of oil and gas activities on reserve lands. To effectively fulfill federal government responsibilities, IOGC ensures that:
 
Prior to oil and gas activities taking place:

  1. an environmental review is conducted;
  2. when hydraulic fracturing is proposed IOGC ensures companies conduct baseline water testing for water wells located within 500 meters of any oil or gas well prior to drilling; and,
  3. all applications, regardless of whether hydraulic fracturing is proposed, demonstrate that the environment will be protected.

During oil and gas activities on reserve, IOGC monitors:

  1. environmental performance through auditing and inspections; and,
  2. all aspects of oil and gas production.

New Indian Oil and Gas Regulations currently under development will provide IOGC with the necessary tools to require, at any time, operators to correct any impacts of an oil and gas activity.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Déclaration sur la fracturation hydraulique de Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Qu'est-ce que la fracturation hydraulique?

La fracturation hydraulique (aussi appelée hydrofracturation) est une technique utilisée depuis 1947 pour améliorer la production pétrolière et gazière. Elle comprend l'injection à forte pression de fluide et de sable dans des formations rocheuses de façon à créer ou à agrandir des fissures dans des roches pétrolifères. Le fluide de fracturation hydraulique peut contenir des additifs aux fonctions spécifiques; par exemple, un ingrédient fait en sorte que l'équipement d'exploitation demeure stérile et exempt de croissances bactériennes non désirées pouvant obstruer l'équipement et les appareils sensibles. Lorsque la fracturation est terminée et que du sable a été injecté dans la formation, environ 40 % des fluides ressortent par le puits où ils sont recueillis puis réutilisés ou traités à des fins d'élimination sûre.

Comment la fracturation hydraulique est-elle règlementée sur les terres de réserve des Premières Nations?

Bien que des recherches et des collectes de données soient en cours, à ce jour aucune des importantes provinces productrices de gaz et de pétrole (Alberta, Saskatchewan et Colombie-Britannique) n'a imposé un moratoire ou une suspension des activités relativement à la fracturation hydraulique en fonction des preuves actuellement disponibles.

Gouvernement fédéral et protection environnementale sur les terres des Premières Nations

Le gouvernement fédéral est l'ultime responsable de la protection environnementale sur les terres de réserve et de la santé des membres des Premières Nations vivant sur une réserve. Ainsi, PGIC est responsable de protéger l'environnement des terres de réserve ainsi que les membres des Premières Nations contre les effets néfastes des activités pétrolières et gazières réalisées sur ces terres. Pour satisfaire entièrement aux responsabilités fédérales, PGIC doit :

Avant la réalisation d'activités pétrolières et gazières :

  1. procéder à une évaluation environnementale;
  2. voir à ce que les compagnies effectuent, après la proposition de fracturations hydrauliques et avant le forage, des tests pour obtenir des données de base sur l'eau des puits situés à 500 mètres ou moins d'un puits de gaz ou de pétrole;
  3. voir à ce que toutes les activités, peu importe s'il s'agit de fracturation hydraulique ou non,  comprennent des démarches pour assurer la protection de l'environnement.

Pendant la réalisation d'activités pétrolières et gazières sur les terres de réserve, PGIC doit surveiller :

  1. la performance environnementale par l'intermédiaire de vérifications et d'inspections;
  2. tous les volets de la production pétrolière et gazière.

Le nouveau règlement sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, en cours d'élaboration, donnera à PGIC les outils nécessaires pour imposer, en tout temps, qu'un exploitant remédie aux retombées négatives des activités pétrolières et gazières. 

 

Date de modification :