ARCHIVED - Update on the Modernization of the Act, Regulations, and Systems (MARS) - Volume III, Issue 2

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

IOGC Quarterly Newsletter

Reporting Period – July 1st to September 30th, 2013

In the last newsletter, it was reported that the department was considering a phased approach that would have the entire IOGA, 2009, plus a set of new core regulations, both come into force towards the end of calendar year 2014. Even though IOGC met its planning objective of completing all regulatory drafting instructions by the end of March 2013, having a complete set of new regulations ready by 2014 was no longer achievable given the sheer volume of material (more than 6,600 pages) plus the complex and technical subject matter.  Once core regulations are in place, IOGC will continue to work with First Nations on the remaining regulatory modules until the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 have been entirely replaced by new, modern regulations.

This phased approach has a number of advantages. First Nations would be able to benefit sooner from the IOGA, 2009 which provides new authorities for IOGC:

  1. to audit companies operating on First Nation lands;
  2. to establish limitation periods for industry to maintain records for auditing purposes;
  3. to protect First Nation sites of cultural importance;
  4. to order companies to take remedial action under certain circumstances; and,
  5. to issue fines and penalties for offences under the Act or regulations.

As well, this phased approach would provide First Nations with more time to review and consider the large volume of regulatory drafting material.

The phased approach would include amendments to the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 to make them compatible with the IOGA, 2009 plus new regulations in the areas of:

  1. Drainage and Compensatory Royalty;
  2. Sub-surface Tenure;
  3. First Nations’ Audit (considered a component of Royalty Management); and,
  4. reporting requirements to facilitate royalty verification.

After these core regulations have been completed, the remaining regulatory modules will be developed – the exact order has yet to be finalized but it is expected that the next modules would include the remainder of the Royalty Management module as well as the Moneys Management module.

Consultation with the oil and gas producing provinces and with industry continues. The department is considering the appointment of a federal-provincial negotiator to assist IOGA with provincial consultation as well as with regulatory development.

The informatics enhancements to support changes as a result of MARS activities continued. Earlier in 2013, IOGA completed the Opportunity Assessment for membership and data exchange with Petrinex, the provincial and industry-recognized authoritative source on hydrocarbon volume and pricing data. Petrinex members currently include industry, Alberta, and Saskatchewan, with Manitoba and Statistics Canada both in the process of joining. The Opportunity Assessment was approved and the project moved on to the next phase – the development of the Business Case which was recently completed.  It is expected that a formal decision concerning IOGA’s proposed membership in Petrinex will be made by the consortium in October 2013.

Since the last newsletter, there have been a number of staffing changes at IOGA. As usual, the latest information is available on the IOGA website.

Looking ahead, the department is expected to shortly reaffirm its commitments to both the Joint Technical Committee (JTC-1) and the Indian Resource Council (IRC) that would see both organizations continuing to receive support so that First Nations’ concerns will be considered throughout the remainder of the regulatory development process. With the support of both these organizations – as well as the National Energy Business Centre of Excellence in Calgary and the Saskatchewan First Nations Natural Resources Centre of Excellence in Saskatoon – IOGA is planning symposiums in Fall 2013 with oil and gas First Nations to explain the phased approach as well as to present the content of the core regulations.  As well, IOGA continues to meet with Chiefs and Councils from individual First Nations when requested.

 

For further information, please contact IOGC at:

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100 - 9911 Chiila Blvd.
Tsuu T'ina AB T2W 6H6
Phone: (403) 292-5625
Fax: (403) 292-5618

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Le point sur la modernisation de la Loi, du Règlement et des systèmes (MARS) - Volume III, numéro 2

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin trimestriel de PGIC.

Période du 1er juillet au 30 septembre 2013

le dernier bulletin, nous annoncions que le Ministère envisageait l’adoption d’une approche par étape devant conduire à l’entrée en vigueur d’ici la fin de l’année civile 2014 de la totalité de la LPGTI, 2009, ainsi que d’une série de nouveaux règlements de base. Quoique PGIC ait réalisé son plan et achevé l’élaboration des instructions de rédaction réglementaires avant la fin de mars 2013, la rédaction de la série complète de nouveaux règlements d’ici 2014 s’est avérée irréalisable compte tenu de l’énorme quantité de matériel (plus de 6 600 pages) et du caractère complexe et technique du sujet. Lorsque les règlements de base seront établis, PGIC travaillera avec les Premières nations sur les modules réglementaires restants jusqu’à ce que le Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et de gaz des terres indiennes soit entièrement remplacé par de nouveaux règlements modernes.

Cette approche par étape comporte un certain nombre d’avantages. Les Premières Nations pourront bénéficier plus tôt de la LPGTI de 2009, qui donne à PGIC de nouveaux pouvoirs :

  1.  de mener des vérifications auprès d’entreprises exploitées sur les terres des Premières Nations;
  2.  d’établir des délais de prescription pour les entreprises en ce qui a trait à la tenue de dossiers à des fins de vérification;
  3.  de protéger les sites d’importance culturelle des Premières Nations;
  4. d’obliger les entreprises à prendre des mesures correctives dans certaines situations;
  5.  d’imposer des amendes et sanctions pour des infractions en vertu de la Loi ou des règlements.

En outre, cette approche par étape laisserait aux Premières Nations plus de temps pour examiner et assimiler la grande quantité de documents nécessaires au processus de rédaction réglementaire.

L’approche par étape comprend des modifications du Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes pour le rendre compatible avec la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2009, ainsi que de nouvelles règles concernant :

  1. le drainage et les redevances compensatoires;
  2. les droits tréfonciers;
  3. la vérification des Premières Nations (considérée comme faisant partie de la gestion des redevances);
  4. les exigences en matière de rapports pour faciliter la vérification des redevances.

Lorsque ces règles de base auront été établies, les modules réglementaires restants seront élaborés – l’ordre exact n’a pas encore été déterminé mais on s’attend à ce que les prochains modules comprennent le reste du module de gestion des redevances ainsi que le module de gestion des montants.

Les consultations avec les provinces productrices de pétrole et de gaz et avec l’industrie se poursuivent. Le Ministère envisage de nommer un négociateur fédéral-provincial pour aider PGIC dans les consultations avec les provinces ainsi que dans le processus d’élaboration réglementaire.

Les améliorations informatiques visant à appuyer les changements résultant des activités de MARS se poursuivent. Déjà en 2013, PGIC a achevé l’évaluation des possibilités d’inscription à Petrinex et d’échange de données avec cette dernière, laquelle est une autorité reconnue à l’échelle de la province et de l’industrie en matière de données sur le volume et le prix du pétrole et du gaz. Les membres de Petrinex sont actuellement des entreprises, l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan, alors que le Manitoba et Statistiques Canada sont sur le point de s’y joindre. L’évaluation des possibilités a été approuvée et le projet est passé à l’étape suivante – l’élaboration d’une analyse de rentabilité qui a déjà été réalisée. On s’attend à ce que la décision officielle concernant l’entrée proposée de PGIC à Petrinex soit prise par le consortium en octobre 2013.

Depuis la publication du dernier bulletin, un certain nombre de changements de dotation se sont produits à PGIC. Comme d’habitude, les renseignements les plus récents sont disponibles sur le site Web de PGIC.

Pour ce qui est de l’avenir, le Ministère s’attend à réaffirmer très bientôt ses engagements envers le Comité technique mixte (CTM-1) et le Conseil des ressources indiennes (CRI), c’est-à-dire que les deux organisations continueraient d’être financées de façon à ce que les préoccupations des Premières Nations soient prises pleinement en compte dans la suite du processus d’élaboration réglementaire. Avec l’appui de ces organisations – ainsi que du Centre d’excellence national pour les entreprises du secteur énergétique à Calgary et du Saskatchewan First Nations Natural Resources Centre of Excellence à Saskatoon – PGIC prévoit organiser des conférences à l’automne 2013 avec les Premières Nations productrices de pétrole et de gaz pour expliquer l’approche par étape et pour présenter le contenu des règlements de base. En outre, PGIC continue de rencontrer les chefs et les conseils de chaque Première nation concernée quand c’est nécessaire.

 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec PGIC à :

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boul. Chiila, bureau 100
Tsuu T'ina (Alberta) T2W 6H6
Téléphone : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur : 403-292-5618

Date de modification :