Update on the Modernization of the Act, Regulations and Systems (MARS)

IOGC Quarterly Newsletter Volume VI, Issue 3

Reporting Period October 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016

I. IOGC and MARS Project Update:

First Nations’ feedback on IOGC’s draft Phase I regulations – gathered from two symposiums (March 2016 in Edmonton and April 2016 in Saskatoon) – was categorized under three themes. Those categorized under "oil and gas technical comments" will be considered when the draft Phase I regulations are updated to become the final Phase I regulations (i.e., in conjunction with all other comments received during the 30-day pre-publication in Canada Gazette, Part I). For the remaining two themes, "First Nations’ governance" and "Consultation", the Government of Canada has re-established a negotiation table that is committed to explore, in partnership with oil and gas First Nations, potential options for greater First Nation’s jurisdiction and control over oil and gas management on reserve and is actively engaging First Nations to determine how this may be accommodated with a view to bringing recommendations forward for consideration by the Government.

IOGC’s draft Phase I regulations are now undergoing the appropriate government review and approvals processes. Once approved, they would be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I for a 30-day public review and comment period. This could occur as early as the next quarterly reporting period (January 2017 to March 2017). IOGC will also be publishing the draft Phase I regulations in the First Nations Gazette. All feedback received will be considered and accommodated, where appropriate. In the next step, the draft Phase I regulations will be updated to become the final Phase I regulations. The final Phase I regulations would once again undergo government review and approvals processes. Once approved, the final Phase I regulations would be published in the Canada Gazette, Part II and shortly thereafter, the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 and the Phase I regulations would both become law.

IOGC’s staff continues to prepare for the administration and enforcement of the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 and the Phase I regulations. There are two parallel tracks governing this important process: 1) MARS Implementation, that will ensure processes, policies, procedures, and tools are prepared; and, 2) Organizational Change Management (OCM), that will ensure IOGC's staff are well-equipped. To assist staff through this period of considerable change, a contract is being prepared for an OCM service provider over the long-term. This will enable IOGC to be better-positioned to respond to both internally-driven change (i.e., changes resulting from the new Act and regulations) and externally-driven change (i.e., those changes that affect whole-of-government such as new e-mail and document management systems). Due to competing priorities, the development of the long-term contract for OCM services has been delayed and will likely be postponed until Q1 FY2017-18.

Even as IOGC is shepherding the Phase I regulations through government approvals processes, its partnership with the Indian Resource Council and the Joint Technical Committee One has already begun work on the Phase II regulations. Regulatory drafting instructions were shared for:

  • Surface;
  • Exploration (Seismic);
  • Moneys; and,
  • Environment.

IOGC is looking forward to feedback once oil and gas First Nation advocates have completed their review.

II. Announcement – Petrinex IOGC Inclusion Project Begins

In the last issue, IOGC announced that the Resource Information Management Systems 2 (RIMS2) project received Treasury Board approvals for its project and expenditure implementation. The RIMS2 project includes:

  1. the Petrinex IOGC Inclusion Project;
  2. a new royalty management system for IOGC; and,
  3. introduction of elements of a case management system at IOGC.

The partnership with Petrinex (formerly PETRINEX – PETRoleum INformation EXcellence) marks an important milestone for IOGC’s modernization project. Petrinex is a unique Crown-industry partnership that is recognized as the authoritative source in Western Canada for hydrocarbon volume and pricing data.

The new on-reserve oil and gas legislative and regulatory regime will be implemented via modernized business practices supported by new information systems. Once the RIMS2 project is completed, IOGC will be able to align business processes and systems with those already in use by the provinces and industry. By tapping into Petrinex, First Nations and oil and gas companies will benefit via:

  • reduced royalty under-payments and over-payments due to up-front validation and use of a factor concept to ensure 100% allocations;
  • fewer amendments and reconciliations for royalty data submitted by industry; and,
  • more effective and reliable data.

In Q3, IOGC and Public Services and Procurement Canada completed the procurement process and issued a contract to Fujitsu Consulting Canada for the Petrinex IOGC Inclusion Project. The project kick-off meeting has been scheduled for early Q4 and project workshops are scheduled to begin shortly thereafter.

III. An Important Update from Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) (re-print from previous issue of newsletter)

Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) is developing regulations to reduce methane emissions from the oil and gas sector. These regulations are being designed to fulfill a joint commitment with the United States to reduce methane emissions by 40-45 percent, below 2012 levels, by 2025 from the oil and gas sector. In late June 2016, Mexico announced their intent to implement this methane commitment. These federal regulations will cover both new and existing sources, and will affect both upstream and downstream sources. Methane is a potent, short-lived, greenhouse gas. It is 25 times more potent than carbon dioxide, so limiting these emissions is a key part of addressing climate change. Controlling methane from oil and gas operations also improves air quality by reducing the release of volatile organic compounds (VOCs). These regulations will address fugitive emissions (those that escape unintentionally) and venting of emissions (intentional release of emissions, instead of flaring those emissions). Fugitive emissions will be addressed through measures such as requiring the implementation of a leak detection and repair system (known as LDAR), so that unintentional emission releases can be identified and fixed. Limits will be placed on the venting of emissions, to minimize their release.

ECCC is working on the draft regulations, which are expected to be pre-published in Canada Gazette Part I in early 2017. Final regulations are targeted for the end of 2017 and will be published on the CEPA Environmental Registry:
ECCC is actively engaging Indigenous organizations, companies, non-governmental organizations as well as provinces and territories on this subject and welcomes comments and questions on the development of these regulations. ECCC would be pleased to provide interested groups with additional background information and/or briefings, if desired. For further information on this important initiative and the proposed regulations, please contact ec.methane-methane.ec@canada.ca by Email or visit Environment and Climate Change Canada.

For further information on IOGC or the MARS Project, please contact IOGC at:

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100 – 9911 boul. Chiila Blvd.
Tsuu T'ina AB T2W 6H6
Phone: (403) 292-5625
Fax: (403) 292-5618
Email: ContactIOGC@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Le point sur la modernisation de la Loi, du Règlement et des systèmes (MARS)

Bulletin trimestriel de PGIC Volume VI, numéro 3

Période du 1er octobre 2016 au 31 décembre 2016

I. Le point sur PGIC et le projet de MARS

Les commentaires des Premières Nations au sujet de l’ébauche de l’étape 1 du Règlement – recueillis dans le cadre de deux colloques (un en mars 2016 à Edmonton et l’autre en avril 2016 à Saskatoon) – ont été catégorisés selon trois thèmes. Ceux de la catégorie « Commentaires techniques - Pétrole et gaz » seront examinés lorsque la version préliminaire de l’étape 1 du Règlement deviendra la version définitive (c.-à-d. en même temps que tous les autres commentaires reçus durant la période de publication préalable de 30 jours dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I). En ce qui a trait aux deux autres thèmes « Gouvernance des Premières Nations » et « Consultation », le gouvernement du Canada a rétabli une table de négociation qui s’est engagée à étudier, en partenariat avec les Premières Nations productrices de gaz et de pétrole, des moyens d’accorder aux Premières Nations une compétence et un contrôle accrus sur la gestion du gaz et du pétrole dans les réserves. De plus, il consulte les Premières Nations afin de déterminer comment on pourrait prendre en compte ces commentaires afin de présenter les recommandations au gouvernement aux fins d’examen.

La version préliminaire de l’étape 1 du Règlement de PGIC fait actuellement l’objet des processus d’examen et d’approbation gouvernementaux appropriés. Une fois approuvée, la version préliminaire sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, pendant 30 jours, pour que le public puisse l’examiner et donner ses commentaires, ce qui pourrait avoir lieu dès la prochaine période de rapport trimestrielle (de janvier 2017 à mars 2017). PGIC publiera également la version préliminaire de l’étape 1 du Règlement dans la Gazette des premières nations (site Web non disponible en français). Toute la rétroaction reçue sera étudiée et prise en compte s’il y a lieu. À la prochaine étape, la version préliminaire de l’étape 1 du Règlement sera mise à jour et deviendra la version définitive. Cette dernière fera à nouveau l’objet des processus d’examen et d’approbation gouvernementaux. Une fois approuvée, la version définitive de l’étape 1 du Règlement sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 2 et, peu après, la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2009 et l’étape 1 du Règlement entreront en vigueur.

Les employés de PGIC continuent de se préparer en vue de l’administration et de la mise en application de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2009 et de l’étape 1 du Règlement. Deux volets parallèles régissent cet important processus : 1) la mise en œuvre du projet MARS, qui permettra de s’assurer que les processus, les politiques, les procédures et les outils sont prêts; et 2) la gestion du changement organisationnel (GCO), qui permettra de veiller à ce que les employés de PGIC disposent des outils adéquats. Pour aider le personnel durant cette période de changements importants, on prépare actuellement un marché pour un fournisseur de services de GCO à long terme. Cela permettra à PGIC d’être mieux positionné pour s’adapter aux changements causés par des facteurs internes (c.-à-d. les changements découlant de la nouvelle loi et de son règlement) et aux changements causés par des facteurs externes (c.-à-d. les changements qui concernent le gouvernement dans son ensemble, comme les nouveaux systèmes de gestion du courriel et des documents). En raison de priorités concurrentes, l’élaboration d’un marché à long terme pour les services de GCO a été reportée, et ce, probablement jusqu’au premier trimestre de l’exercice 2017-2018.

Même si PGIC guide l’étape 1 du Règlement à travers les processus d’examen et d’approbation gouvernementaux, ses travaux pour l’étape 2 du Règlement en partenariat avec le Conseil des ressources indiennes et le Comité technique mixte ont déjà commencé. Les directives de rédaction ont été diffusées pour ce qui suit :

  • Transport en surface;
  • Exploration (sismique);
  • Fonds;
  • Environnement.

PGIC attend avec impatience de recevoir les commentaires des défenseurs des droits des Premières Nations une fois qu’ils auront terminé leur examen

II. Annonce – Début du projet d’inclusion de PGIC à Petrinex

Dans le dernier numéro, PGIC a annoncé que le projet concernant le Système de gestion des données sur les ressources 2 (SGDR2) a reçu les approbations du Conseil du Trésor relativement à la mise en œuvre de son projet et des dépenses. Ce projet comprend ce qui suit :

  1. le projet d’inclusion de PGIC à Petrinex;
  2. un nouveau système de gestion des redevances pour PGIC;
  3. l’intégration d’éléments d’un système de gestion des cas à PGIC.

Le partenariat avec Petrinex (anciennement PETRoleum INformation EXcellence) représente un jalon important du projet de modernisation de PGIC. Petrinex est un partenariat unique entre la Couronne et l’industrie qui est reconnu en tant que source de données sur le volume et le prix des hydrocarbures faisant autorité dans l’Ouest du Canada.

Le nouveau régime législatif et réglementaire concernant le pétrole et le gaz dans les réserves sera mis en œuvre à l’aide de pratiques opérationnelles modernes appuyées par de nouveaux systèmes d’information. Une fois le projet SGDR2 terminé, les systèmes et les processus opérationnels de PGIC s’harmoniseront avec ceux déjà en place au sein des provinces et de l’industrie. En tirant parti de Petrinex, les Premières Nations et les compagnies pétrolières et gazières bénéficieront :

  • d’une réduction des trop-perçus et des paiements insuffisants de redevances causés par la validation initiale et l’utilisation d’un concept factoriel pour assurer l’octroi de la totalité des allocations;
  • d’une diminution du nombre de modifications et de rapprochements des données relatives aux redevances soumises par l’industrie;
  • de données plus efficaces et fiables.

Au troisième trimestre, PGIC et Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada ont conclu le processus d’acquisition et a attribué un marché à Fujitsu Consulting Canada pour le projet d’inclusion de PGIC à Petrinex. La réunion inaugurale du projet est prévue au début du quatrième trimestre, et les ateliers devraient débuter peu après.

III. Mise à jour importante d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) (réimpression du numéro précédent du bulletin)

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) rédige un règlement pour réduire les émissions de méthane provenant du secteur du pétrole et du gaz. Ce règlement est conçu dans le but de respecter un engagement que le Canada a pris avec les États-Unis, qui vise à réduire les émissions de méthane de 40 à 45 pour cent, sous les niveaux de 2012, d’ici 2025 dans le secteur pétrolier et gazier. À la fin juin 2016, le Mexique a annoncé son intention de mettre en œuvre ce même engagement. Ce règlement fédéral englobera les sources nouvelles et existantes et influera sur les sources en amont et en aval. Le méthane est un puissant gaz à effet de serre de courte durée. Il est 25 fois plus puissant que le dioxyde de carbone, donc la réduction de ces émissions est un important aspect de la lutte contre les changements climatiques. Le fait de contrôler les émissions de méthane dans le cadre des activités pétrolières et gazières améliore aussi la qualité de l’air en réduisant les émissions de composés organiques volatils (COV). Ce règlement permettra de réduire les émissions fugitives de composés organiques volatils (rejets accidentels) et d’améliorer la purge des émissions (émissions intentionnelles, au lieu de les brûler). Les mesures prises pour les émissions fugitives sont notamment la mise en œuvre d’exigences de détection et de colmatage des fuites, pour que les rejets accidentels puissent être trouvés et réparés. Des limites seront fixées pour la purge des émissions pour minimiser les rejets.

ECCC travaille à la rédaction d’un projet de règlement, dont la publication préalable dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I est prévue au début de 2017. On prévoit que la version définitive du règlement sera terminée à la fin de 2017 et publiée au Registre environnemental de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement :
ECCC consulte activement les organisations, les entreprises et les organisations non gouvernementales autochtones ainsi que les provinces et les territoires sur ce sujet et accueille avec plaisir les commentaires et les questions sur l’élaboration de ce règlement. ECCC serait heureux de fournir des renseignements généraux supplémentaires ou d’offrir des séances d’information aux groupes intéressés, si ces derniers le souhaitent. Pour obtenir de plus renseignements sur cette initiative importante et le projet de règlement, veuillez communiquer avec ec.methane-methane.ec@canada.ca par courriel, ou visiter Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur PGIC ou le projet MARS, veuillez communiquer avec PGIC :

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boulevard Chiila, pièce 100
Tsuu T’ina (Alberta) T2W 6H6
Téléphone : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur : 403-292-5618
Courriel : aadnc.contacterpgic.aandc@canada.ca

Date de modification :