Update on the Modernization of the Act, Regulations and Systems (MARS)

IOGC Quarterly Newsletter Volume VI, Issue 4

Reporting Period January 1, 2017 to March 31, 2017

I. IOGC and MARS Project Update:

The draft Phase I regulations underwent the appropriate government review and approvals processes and were scheduled for a February 2017 date for consideration by Treasury Board and approval for pre-publication in the Canada Gazette, Part I. However, a resolution – moved by the Blood Tribe – was passed at the January 31, 2017 Indian Resource Council (IRC) Annual General Meeting and it called upon Canada to temporarily put this process into abeyance. The Minister agreed to this request and further approvals for the draft Phase I regulations were suspended.

The resolution put forth by the Blood Tribe contained six specific areas of concern. By the end of the reporting period for this newsletter, the Department had agreed to accommodations in three of the six areas. The Department is continuing to work closely with the IRC, as well as with the Joint Technical Committee One (JTC-1), to explore if additional accommodations could be made to the proposed, draft Phase I regulations to address the remaining concerns expressed by the Blood Tribe and other oil and gas First Nations.

Once the text is agreed-upon, new, official, Blue-Stamped regulations will be prepared by Justice Canada and the updated, Phase I regulations would again undergo the appropriate government review and approvals processes leading to Treasury Board consideration and approval for pre-publication in the Canada Gazette, Part I. Depending on the extent of the required changes, this may happen before Parliament adjourns for the summer recess or in the Fall of 2017. During pre-publication in the Canada Gazette, Part I, the draft regulations would be subjected to a 30-day public review and comment period. Simultaneously, IOGC will also be publishing the draft Phase I regulations in the First Nations Gazette.  All feedback received will be considered and accommodated, where appropriate. In the next step, the draft Phase I regulations will be updated to become the final Phase I regulations.  The final Phase I regulations would once again undergo government review and approvals processes. Once approved, the final Phase I regulations would be published in the Canada Gazette, Part II and shortly thereafter, the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 and the Phase I regulations would both become law.

In the preceding issue of this newsletter, it was reported that there remain some issues of concern to First Nations outside the scope of the Act and its regulations. To address these issues, the Joint Technical Committee Two (JTC-2) process will be revived. The Government of Canada has committed to explore, in partnership with oil and gas First Nations, potential options for greater First Nation's jurisdiction and control over oil and gas management on reserve and is actively engaging First Nations to determine how this may be accommodated with a view to bringing recommendations forward for consideration by the Government.

IOGC's staff continues to prepare for the administration and enforcement of the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 and the Phase I regulations. There are two parallel tracks governing this important process: 1) MARS Implementation, that will ensure processes, policies, procedures, and tools are prepared; and, 2) Organizational Change Management (OCM), that will ensure IOGC's staff are well-equipped. To assist staff through this period of considerable change; a contract is being prepared for an OCM service provider over the long-term. This will enable IOGC to be better-positioned to respond to both internally-driven change (i.e., changes resulting from the new Act and regulations) and externally-driven change (i.e., those changes that affect whole-of-government such as new e-mail and document management systems).  Due to competing priorities, the development of the long-term contract for OCM services has been delayed and will likely be postponed until Q1 FY2017-18.

Even as IOGC is shepherding the Phase I regulations through government approvals processes, its partnership with the IRC and JTC-1 has already begun work on some Phase II regulations.  However, while Phase II work is already in progress, it will be necessary to temporarily,  pause further work until Phase 1 is completed.  Regulatory drafting instructions were shared for:

  • Surface;
  • Exploration (Seismic);
  • Moneys; and,
  • Environment.

IOGC is looking forward to feedback once oil and gas First Nation advocates have completed their review.

II. Petrinex IOGC Inclusion Project Continues

In the last issue of this newsletter, IOGC announced that the Resource Information Management Systems 2 (RIMS2) would soon be kicked off. The RIMS2 Project includes:

  • The Petrinex IOGC Inclusion Project;
  • A new royalty management system for IOGC; and,
  • Introduction of elements of a case management system at IOGC.

The new on-reserve oil and gas legislative and regulatory regime will be implemented via modernized business practices supported by new information systems.  Once the RIMS2 project is completed, IOGC will be able to align business processes and systems with those already in use by the provinces and industry.  By tapping into Petrinex, First Nations and oil and gas companies will benefit via:

  • Reduced royalty under-payments and over-payments due to up-front validation and use of a factor concept to ensure 100% allocations;
  • Fewer amendments and reconciliations for royalty data submitted by industry; and,
  • More effective and reliable data.

Five project workshops have taken place over the last quarter on the Petrinex IOGC Inclusion Project and progress had been steady. The remaining two streams of the RIMS2 Project – a new royalty management system and the introduction of case management – are undergoing a procurement process managed by Public Services and Procurement Canada.

III. Inventory of First Nation Sites

During the consultation process for amendments to the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009, First Nations indicated the importance of protecting sites of cultural importance.  In response, section 5. (1)(a), (b) of the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 was developed. It provides for the Minister to order the suspension of industry operations if it presents a risk of harm to a site of "...cultural, spiritual or ceremonial importance to the first nation".

While the process to enact the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 is also in abeyance with the Phase I regulations, it was determined that funding directed to developing an inventory of culturally significant sites should be utilized.  After a competitive process, the First Nations Technical Services Advisory Group (TSAG) was selected to perform the work necessary to develop the inventory. TSAG is a non-profit organization mandated by the Chiefs of Alberta to provide technical services and training, including for mapping and geographic information systems (GIS). TSAG began working with First Nations on their inventories in mid-2016. TSAG has reached out to all First Nations with active oil and gas sites on their reserve lands and has initiated projects with over 10 First Nations.

It is important to note that First Nations maintain ownership over their data and maps and IOGC does not receive any of the data collected throughout the project. The inventory of cultural sites is beneficial for a First Nation regardless of the progress made on bringing the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 and Phase I regulations into force and can inform planning and other land management decisions.

For more information about the "Inventory of First Nation Sites" project, please contact Amanda Doyle at TSAG (adoyle@tsag.net; 780-483-8601).

For further information on IOGC or the MARS Project, please contact IOGC at:

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100 – 9911 boul. Chiila Blvd.
Tsuu T'ina AB  T2W 6H6
Phone: (403) 292-5625
Fax: (403) 292-5618
Email: ContactIOGC@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Le point sur la modernisation de la Loi, du Règlement et des systèmes (MARS)

Bulletin trimestriel de PGIC Volume VI, numéro 4

Période du 1er janvier au 31 mars 2017

I. Le point sur PGIC et le projet MARS

La version préliminaire du règlement de la phase 1 a fait l'objet des processus d'examen et d'approbation gouvernementaux appropriés, et l'analyse par le Conseil du Trésor et l'approbation pour prépublication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I devaient avoir lieu en février 2017. Cependant, une résolution – proposée par la Tribu des Blood – a été adoptée à l'assemblée générale annuelle du Conseil des ressources indiennes (CRI) du 31 janvier 2017 afin de demander au Canada de mettre temporairement ce processus en suspens. La ministre a accepté cette demande et les approbations supplémentaires de la version préliminaire du règlement de la phase 1 ont été suspendues.

La résolution soumise par la Tribu des Blood faisait état de six secteurs préoccupants. À la fin de la période visée par le présent bulletin, le Ministère avait accepté des mesures d'accommodement pour trois des six secteurs. Le Ministère continue de collaborer étroitement avec le CRI, ainsi qu'avec le Comité technique mixte un (CTM-1), pour déterminer si des mesures d'accommodement supplémentaires pourraient être ajoutées à la version préliminaire du règlement de la phase 1 pour aborder les préoccupations restantes exprimées par la Tribu des Blood et d'autres Premières Nations productrices de pétrole et de gaz.

Une fois le texte convenu, un nouveau règlement estampillé sera préparé par le ministère de la Justice du Canada et le règlement de la phase 1 à jour fera de nouveau l'objet des processus d'examen et d'approbation gouvernementaux appropriés menant à la considération par le Conseil du Trésor et à l'approbation pour prépublication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I. Selon l'étendue des changements requis, cela pourrait avoir lieu avant le début des vacances parlementaires d'été ou à l'automne 2017. Pendant la prépublication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, le projet de règlement ferait l'objet d'une période de consultation publique de 30 jours. Simultanément, PGIC publiera aussi la version préliminaire du règlement de la phase 1 dans la Gazette des premières nations. Toute la rétroaction reçue sera étudiée et prise en compte s'il y a lieu. À la prochaine étape, la version préliminaire du règlement de la phase 1 sera mise à jour et deviendra la version définitive. Cette dernière fera à nouveau l'objet des processus d'examen et d'approbation gouvernementaux. Une fois approuvée, la version définitive du règlement de la phase 1 sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II et, peu après, la Loi de 2009 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et le règlement de la phase 1 entreront en vigueur.

Dans le numéro précédent du présent bulletin, on a signalé qu'il restait certaines questions préoccupantes pour les Premières Nations en dehors de la portée de la Loi et de son règlement. Pour aborder ces questions, le processus du Comité technique mixte deux (CTM-2) sera relancé. Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à étudier, en partenariat avec les Premières Nations productrices de pétrole et de gaz, des moyens d'accorder aux Premières Nations une compétence et un contrôle accrus sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz dans les réserves. De plus, il consulte les Premières Nations afin de déterminer comment on pourrait prendre en compte ces commentaires afin de présenter les recommandations au gouvernement aux fins d'examen.

Les employés de PGIC continuent de se préparer en vue de l'administration et de la mise en application de la Loi de 2009 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et du règlement de la phase 1. Deux volets parallèles régissent cet important processus : 1) la mise en œuvre du projet MARS, qui permettra de s'assurer que les processus, les politiques, les procédures et les outils sont prêts; et 2) la gestion du changement organisationnel (GCO), qui permettra de veiller à ce que les employés de PGIC disposent des outils adéquats. Pour aider le personnel durant cette période de changements importants, on prépare actuellement un marché pour un fournisseur de services de GCO à long terme. Cela permettra à PGIC d'être mieux positionné pour s'adapter aux changements causés par des facteurs internes (c.-à-d. les changements découlant de la nouvelle loi et de son règlement) et aux changements causés par des facteurs externes (c.-à-d. les changements qui concernent le gouvernement dans son ensemble, comme les nouveaux systèmes de courriel et de gestion des documents). En raison de priorités concurrentes, l'élaboration d'un marché à long terme pour les services de GCO a été reportée, et ce, probablement jusqu'au premier trimestre de l'exercice 2017-2018.

Même si PGIC guide le règlement de la phase 1 à travers les processus d'examen et d'approbation gouvernementaux, ses travaux pour la phase 2 en partenariat avec le CRI et le CTM-1 ont déjà commencé. Cependant, bien que les travaux pour la phase 2 soient déjà en cours, il sera nécessaire d'y mettre temporairement fin jusqu'à ce que la phase 1 soit terminée. Les directives de rédaction ont été diffusées pour ce qui suit :

  • Transport en surface;
  • Exploration (sismique);
  • Fonds;
  • Environnement.

PGIC attend avec impatience de recevoir les commentaires des défenseurs des droits des Premières Nations une fois qu'ils auront terminé leur examen.

II. Le projet d'inclusion de PGIC à Petrinex continue

Dans le dernier numéro du présent bulletin, PGIC a annoncé que le projet concernant le Système de gestion des données sur les ressources 2 (SGDR2) serait bientôt lancé. Ce projet comprend ce qui suit :

  • le projet d'inclusion de PGIC à Petrinex;
  • un nouveau système de gestion des redevances pour PGIC;
  • l'intégration d'éléments d'un système de gestion des cas à PGIC.

Le nouveau régime législatif et réglementaire concernant le pétrole et le gaz dans les réserves sera mis en œuvre à l'aide de pratiques opérationnelles modernes appuyées par de nouveaux systèmes d'information. Une fois le projet SGDR2 terminé, les systèmes et les processus opérationnels de PGIC s'harmoniseront avec ceux déjà en place au sein des provinces et de l'industrie. En tirant parti de Petrinex, les Premières Nations et les compagnies pétrolières et gazières bénéficieront :

  • d'une réduction des trop-perçus et des paiements insuffisants de redevances causés par la validation initiale et l'utilisation d'un concept factoriel pour assurer l'octroi de la totalité des allocations;
  • d'une diminution du nombre de modifications et de rapprochements des données relatives aux redevances soumises par l'industrie;
  • de données plus efficaces et fiables. 

Cinq ateliers de projet ont eu lieu au cours du dernier trimestre sur le projet d'inclusion de PGIC à Petrinex et les progrès sont constants. Les deux volets restants du projet SGDR2 – un nouveau système de gestion des redevances et l'introduction d'un système de gestion des cas – font l'objet d'un processus d'acquisition géré par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

III. Inventaire des sites des Premières Nations

Pendant le processus de consultation visant la modification de la Loi de 2009 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, les Premières Nations ont indiqué l'importance de la protection des sites d'importance culturelle. En réponse, les alinéas 5. (1)a) et b) de la Loi de 2009 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes ont été mis au point. Ils prévoient que le ministre ordonne la suspension des activités de l'industrie si elles présentent un danger pour un site « qui revêt une importance sur le plan culturel, spirituel ou cérémoniel pour la première nation ».

Bien que le processus de promulgation de la Loi de 2009 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes soit aussi en suspens en même temps que le règlement de la phase 1, on a déterminé que le financement accordé à l'élaboration d'un inventaire des sites culturellement importants devrait être utilisé. Par suite d'un concours, le First Nations Technical Services Advisory Group (TSAG) a été choisi pour effectuer le travail nécessaire à l'inventaire. Le TSAG est un organisme sans but lucratif mandaté par les chefs de l'Alberta pour fournir des services techniques et de la formation, y compris la cartographie et les systèmes d'information géographique (SIG). Le TSAG a commencé à travailler avec les Premières Nations à l'élaboration de leurs inventaires à la mi-2016. Le TSAG a communiqué avec toutes les Premières Nations dont les terres de réserve comportent des sites pétroliers et gaziers et a entamé des projets avec plus de dix Premières Nations.

Il est important de noter que les Premières Nations conservent la propriété de leurs données et de leurs cartes et que le PGIC ne reçoit aucune des données recueillies pendant le projet. L'inventaire des sites culturels est bénéfique pour une Première Nation sans égard aux progrès effectués pour la mise en vigueur de la Loi de 2009 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et du règlement de la phase 1, et peut éclairer la planification et d'autres décisions de gestion des terres.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du projet « Inventaire des sites des Premières Nations », veuillez communiquer avec Amanda Doyle, du TSAG (adoyle@tsag.net; 780-483-8601).

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur PGIC ou le projet MARS, veuillez communiquer avec PGIC :

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
100 – 9911 boul. Chiila Blvd.
Tsuu T'ina (Alberta) T2W 6H6
Téléphone : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur : 403-292-5618
Courriel : ContactIOGC@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date de modification :