Co-Management Board

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) operates under the direction of a Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director who participates as a member of the nine-member Board of Directors. The Board was established in 1996 by the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and the Indian Resource Council (IRC). The MOU established a Board of Directors to initially co-manage IOGC operations, focusing on areas of collective interests, such as IOGC issues, policies, plans, priorities and resources. Six of the nine Board members are selected by the IRC and three by the Crown. Two Board members serve as co-chairs, the Chairman of the IRC and the Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Date modified: