ARCHIVED - Drainage Notices

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Our file number: E-5855-7, E-5855-8
Date: November 1999

PDF Version (68 Kb, 3 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format can be obtained on the help page.




Background

Drainage is the subsurface removal of oil or gas by wells located on adjacent lands. Drainage poses a risk to First Nations and IOGC since it could result in a loss of potential revenue. Drainage can only be ‘proved' or ‘disproved' by first drilling a well and collecting geological and engineering data. Meanwhile, the law of capture applies and delay can potentially result in an unrecoverable loss.

Sections 34 and 35 of the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 (Regulations) address drainage of oil and gas resources from Indian lands.

Offset Requirements

If it is determined jointly by the Band Council and the Executive Director, IOGC, that there may be production or drainage of oil or gas from an Indian lease or permit area by a draining well in a laterally or diagonally adjoining spacing unit (without considering road allowances), as per section 34 (1) and (2) of the Regulations, the Executive Director may give notice in writing to:

within 90 days after receipt of the notice, or any longer period as specified in the notice.

The permittee or lessee will be informed in writing if the Plan is approved as submitted or with modification as per section 34 (3) of the Regulations.

Notice may be given even if IOGC's interest in the spacing unit being drained is less than 100% and if IOGC has an interest in the draining spacing unit.

Special Cases

An offset obligation can be satisfied under a Plan, if the lease or permit area within a spacing unit adjoining a spacing unit containing a draining well becomes subject to a unit or pooling agreement, or has a well that is recompleted to produce from the zone being drained.

If the production from the offset well is unduly or unjustifiably less than the draining well, the lessee will be notified regarding IOGC's intention to issue a notice to submit a Plan within a specified period. However, the lessee may submit geological and technical information to establish justification for the level of production.

Alternative to Drilling or Submitting a Development Plan

A permittee or lessee may choose to satisfy the offset obligations without having to drill or submit a Plan by:

Compensatory Royalty

If required by the Executive Director, the permittee or lessee must pay compensatory royalty as follows:

Surrender

The permittee or lessee shall surrender the lease or permit area within a spacing unit adjoining the draining well from the surface to the base of the zone from which production or drainage may be occurring. However, it may retain any producing zone. This option is available only within the time period specified in the notice.

Regulatory Authority

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) is a regulatory agency within the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development responsible for the management and administration of oil and gas resources located on Indian reserve lands in Canada. The mandate of IOGC is:

Enquiries

Enquiries related to this Information Letter should be forwarded to:

Senior Production Engineer
Indian Oil and Gas Canada
Suite 100, 9911 Chula Boulevard
Tsuu T'ina, AB T2W 6H6
Phone: (403) 292-5625
Fax: (403) 292-5618

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Avis de drainage

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notre référence : E-5855-7, E-5855-8
Date : Novembre 1999

Format PDF (71 Ko, 3 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF, visitez la section d'aide.




Contexte

Le drainage se définit comme l'extraction souterraine de pétrole ou de gaz par des puits situés sur des terres adjacentes. Il présente un risque pour les Premières nations et Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) puisqu'il peut entraîner une perte de revenus potentiels. Il n'est possible de « prouver » ou de « réfuter » le drainage qu'en forant d'abord un puits et en recueillant par la suite des données géologiques et des données d'ingénierie. Entre-temps, la règle du droit de prise s'applique et des retards peuvent entraîner une perte irrémédiable.

Les articles 34 et 35 du Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes (le Règlement) traitent du drainage des ressources pétrolières et gazières des terres indiennes.

Exigences de compensation

Lorsque le conseil de bande et le directeur exécutif déterminent conjointement qu'il peut y avoir production ou drainage de pétrole ou de gaz dans une zone autochtone sous permis ou sous bail par un puits de drainage situé dans une unité d'espacement adjacente, latérale ou diagonale (sans tenir compte des réserves de route), conformément aux paragraphes 34 (1) et (2) du Règlement, le directeur exécutif peut donner un avis écrit demandant :

dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de l'avis ou dans un délai plus long précisé dans l'avis.

Le titulaire de permis ou le locataire sera avisé par écrit que le plan est approuvé tel qu'il est présenté ou sous réserve de modifications, conformément au paragraphe 34 (3) du Règlement.

Un avis peut être émis même si les droits détenus par PGIC sur l'unité d'espacement qui est drainé sont inférieurs à 100 % et si PGIC détient des droits sur l'unité d'espacement qui sert à effectuer le drainage.

Cas spéciaux

Un plan peut prévoir le respect d'une obligation de compensation, si la zone sous permis ou sous bail d'une unité d'espacement adjacente à une unité d'espacement où se trouve un puits de drainage devient visée par un accord d'union ou de mise en commun, ou contient un puits dont la complétion est de nouveau effectuée pour qu'il puisse produire dans la zone drainée.

Si la production du puits de compensation est inférieure à celle du puits de drainage, de façon excessive ou injustifiable, le locataire sera avisé de l'intention de PGIC d'émettre un avis demandant la soumission d'un plan dans une période précise. Cependant, le locataire peut fournir des renseignements géologiques et techniques pour justifier le niveau de production.

Solution autre que le forage ou la soumission d'un plan d'aménagement Un titulaire de permis ou un locataire peut décider de respecter les obligations de compensation sans avoir à mener des activités de forage ou à soumettre de plan :

Redevances compensatoires

Si le directeur exécutif l'exige, le titulaire de permis ou le locataire doit payer des redevances compensatoires de la façon suivante :

Renonciation

Le titulaire de permis ou locataire renoncera à la zone sous bail ou sous permis au sein d'une unité d'espacement adjacente au puits de drainage, de la surface jusqu'à la base de la zone où se déroulent peut-être des activités de production ou de drainage. Cependant, il peut conserver toute zone productrice. Cette option n'est offerte que durant la période précisée dans l'avis.

Organisme de réglementation

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC), organisme de réglementation du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, est responsable de la gestion et de l'administration des ressources pétrolières et gazières qui se trouvent sur les terres des réserves indiennes au Canada. Il a pour mandat de :

Demandes

Les questions concernant la présente lettre d'information doivent être adressées à :

Ingénieur principal de production
Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boulevard Chula, bureau 100
TSUU T'INA, AB T2W 6H6
Téléphone : (403) 292-5625
Télécopieur : (403) 292-5618

 

Date de modification :