Royalty Administration

Overview

IOGC is responsible for collecting oil and gas royalties on behalf of First Nations for all oil and gas produced from First Nation reserve lands. IOGC manages royalties under the authority of the Indian Act, the Indian Oil and Gas Act, the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 ("Regulations') and the Financial Administration Act.

Royalty moneys collected by IOGC are deposited into First Nation trust fund accounts, typically held by the Government of Canada and administered by regional offices of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC). All royalty payments are made on the basis of a royalty entity, which defines a unique combination of company, First Nation reserve and production entity.

The business objective of royalty administration is to verify receipt of the net royalty liability for any production of oil, gas or associated products where an interest in production is attributable to First Nation oil and gas rights from reserve lands in Canada.

Allocation of Royalty Obligation to a Lessee

The responsibility to pay royalty rests with the lessee(s) in accordance with the Indian Oil and Gas Act, the Regulations and the corresponding contract. Where there are two or more contract holders in respect of an undivided interest in a contract, their duties and obligations are joint and several.

Lessees may delegate the duty of calculating and paying royalties to other companies. If these other companies default on royalty payments, the lessees are responsible to pay the royalties.

Delegation of Royalty Obligation to a Royalty Payer

Oil and gas companies that pay royalties, or royalty payers, are responsible to accurately self-assess and pay royalty due under the terms of the contracts. If a royalty payer that is not a lessee defaults on royalty payments, the lessee(s) is responsible to pay the royalties.

Obtaining and Modifying a Royalty Entity

The royalty entity is the basis on which all royalty payments are made. The royalty entity defines the company, reserve and production entity combination. Lessees must obtain a royalty entity prior to submission of royalty data and payments to IOGC.

The lessee retains control over which companies are royalty payers, or have working interest ownership for royalty payment purposes. The lessee is responsible for completing the New Royalty Entity Request Form or the Notification of Change to Royalty Entity form as needed.

The New Royalty Entity Request Form provides IOGC with the names and contact information for all royalty payers associated to a particular well. It is required when there is a new production entity or when an additional royalty payer is needed.

The Notification of Change to Royalty Entity Form documents changes to an existing royalty entity as a result of an amalgamation, interest transfer or change in working interest ownership. Completion of this form in a timely manner is essential to ensure accurate royalty submissions. Changes to working interest ownership can be submitted at any time; however, they will only take effect on a go forward basis. Retroactive changes to working interest ownership are not permitted.

Reporting and Electronic Submission Requirements

Royalty payers are required to submit validated royalty information through IOGC's electronic submission system by the 25th day of the third month following the month of production. This deadline allows enough time for royalty payers to finalize all data elements prior to making their data submissions.

The submitted information is validated against a set of business rules. Within the hour, a report will appear in the royalty payer's “Submission History” table in the electronic submission system. It is the royalty payer's responsibility to review the status of its submissions to determine if the data has been accepted. If the data is accepted, IOGC's Resource Information Management System is automatically updated. If the data is rejected, the royalty payer must correct and resubmit it.

The business rules used in the validation process are described in detail in the Electronic Royalty Data Submission - User Manual, along with troubleshooting instructions.

Royalty payers are not required to make submissions for royalty entities that have a production volume of zero.

Gas prices are to be reported in dollars per gigajoule ($/GJ), not dollars per thousand cubic metres ($/103m3). Reporting of gas prices using the wrong unit results in assessed results that are dramatically higher than the true royalty liability.

Payment of royalties is still due by the 25th day of the first month following the month of production pursuant to the Regulations (unless otherwise specified in the contract), which means that companies must estimate the royalty payment. Companies are expected to be diligent in their estimation of royalties so that there will be minimal differences between the amount paid and the amount assessed by IOGC using the actual data submitted.

Royalty payers are responsible for providing First Nations with hardcopies of the same information that is provided to IOGC on a monthly basis.

Royalty payers are responsible for creating and maintaining the users having access to IOGC's electronic submission system under the royalty payer's id. Each royalty payer will designate one person as its administrator for the system, to create, update and delete authorized users.

Gas Cost Allowance (GCA)

The Regulations, Section 33, Schedule 1, Clause 2(1) provide for an allowance for gathering, dehydrating, compressing and processing gas and associated products produced from Indian lands.

GCA is a facility-specific deduction to recognize the costs associated with transporting raw gas and turning it into marketable gas. GCA is provided as a dollar rate per unit of marketable sales gas for costs such as gathering, dehydrating, compressing and processing the royalty share of natural gas and its marketable components.

Where a producer gathers, dehydrates, compresses and/or processes First Nation gas through one or more facilities in which it is not an owner, the producer may recover the First Nation royalty share of the related cost through a custom processing rate approved by IOGC. The custom processing rate is applied to First Nation volumes in the same manner as a GCA facility rate.

The GCA rate for a royalty entity is the sum of the rates for all the facilities through which the marketable (residue) gas for that royalty entity is gathered, dehydrated, compressed and processed.

GCA is determined on the gross gas royalty volume in a month and recovered against the gross royalty of the total gas and products sold, up to a maximum of 50% of the monthly gross gas and products royalty.

Three components are recognized in GCA calculations: allowed operating costs, amortized capital cost, and return on average capital. These components are derived from gas cost allowance definitions established in 1954 by the Alberta Public Utilities Board.

A company must complete an annual GCA submission on or before May 31 of the year following production.

For more information on GCA submissions, please consult the Gas Cost Allowance User Guide.

Administration des redevances

Aperçu

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) est responsable de la collecte des redevances pétrolières et gazières au nom des Premières nations pour le pétrole et le gaz extraits des terres de réserve autochtones. PGIC gère les redevances en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, 2009 du Règlement de 2019 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes (Règlement) et de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Les redevances recueillies par PGIC sont déposées dans des comptes fiduciaires autochtones, qui sont habituellement la propriété du gouvernement du Canada et sont gérés par les bureaux régionaux des Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC). Tous les versements de redevances sont faits par entité génératrice de redevances, c'est à dire une combinaison unique d'une entreprise, d'une réserve autochtone et d'une unité de production.

L’administration des redevances se fait dans l’objectif opérationnel de vérifier la réception des redevances nettes exigibles pour toute activité de production de pétrole, de gaz ou de produit connexe dans le cadre de laquelle les Premières nations ont un droit pétrolier ou gazier sur les terres de réserve au Canada.

Attribution, à un locataire, de l'obligation de verser des redevances

La responsabilité de payer des redevances revient au(x) locataire(s) conformément à la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, à son Règlement d'application et au contrat connexe. Lorsqu'il y a plus d'un détenteur de contrat pour un intérêt indivis dans un contrat, leurs fonctions et obligations sont communes et multiples.

Les locataires peuvent déléguer à d'autres entreprises les fonctions de calcul et de versement des redevances. Les locataires sont responsables du paiement des redevances si ces autres entreprises omettent de les verser.

Délégation, à un payeur de redevances, de l'obligation de verser des redevances

Les entreprises pétrolières et gazières qui paient des redevances (payeurs de redevances) sont responsables d'évaluer elles mêmes avec exactitude et de payer les redevances conformément aux conditions des contrats. Si un payeur de redevances qui n'est pas un locataire omet de verser des redevances, le ou les locataires sont responsables de les verser.

Obtention et modification d'une entité génératrice de redevances

L'entité génératrice de redevances est la base des versements des redevances et représente une combinaison de l'entreprise, de la réserve et de l'unité de production. Les locataires doivent obtenir une accréditation d'entité génératrice de redevances avant de présenter des données sur les redevances et les paiements à PGIC.

La détermination des entreprises qui versent des redevances, ou qui détiennent un intérêt économique direct aux fins de paiement des redevances, demeure sous l'autorité du locataire. Ce dernier est responsable de remplir au besoin le formulaire de Demande de nouvelle entité génératrice de redevances ou d'Avis de changement à une entité génératrice de redevances.

Le formulaire de Demande de nouvelle entité génératrice de redevances fournit à PGIC les noms et les coordonnées de tous les payeurs de redevances associés à un puits en particulier. Il est requis lorsqu'il y a une nouvelle unité de production ou quand un payeur de redevances supplémentaire est nécessaire.

Le formulaire d'Avis de changement à une entité génératrice de redevances consigne les changements apportés à une entité génératrice de redevances à la suite d'une fusion, d’une autorisation pour les soumissions sur les redevances ou d'un changement d'intérêt économique. Le dépôt de ce formulaire en temps opportun est essentiel pour la présentation de dossiers exacts sur les redevances. Les changements d'intérêt économique peuvent être présentés en tout temps, mais ils ne peuvent pas faire l'objet d'une rétroaction. Les changements rétroactifs d'intérêt économique ne sont pas permis.

Présentation de rapports et exigences de soumission électronique des données

Les payeurs de redevances doivent présenter des données validées sur les redevances par l'entremise du système électronique de soumission de PGIC dès qu’elles sont disponibles, mais au plus tard le troisième (3e) mois suivant le mois de pendant lequel le pétrole ou le gaz a été produit. Cette échéance donne suffisamment de temps aux payeurs de redevances pour mettre la touche finale aux données avant de les acheminer.

Les renseignements fournis sont validés par rapport à un ensemble de règles administratives. Dans les deux heures qui suivent la soumission, un rapport va apparaître dans le tableau de l'« Historique de soumission » du système électronique de soumission. Il incombe au payeur de redevances d'examiner l'état de ses soumissions pour savoir si les données ont été acceptées. Si les données sont acceptées, le Système de gestion de l'information sur les ressources de PGIC est mis à jour automatiquement. Si les données sont rejetées, le payeur de redevances doit les corriger et les soumettre de nouveau.

Le document Soumission électronique des données sur les redevances - Guide de l'utilisateur décrit en détail les règles administratives utilisées dans le processus de validation et présente un guide de dépannage.

Les payeurs de redevances sont exigés de faire une déclaration pour les entités génératrices de redevances qui ont une production de zéro.

Les prix du gaz doivent être déclarés en dollars par gigajoule ($/GJ), et non en dollars par millier de mètres cubes ($/103m3). La déclaration des prix du gaz au moyen de la mauvaise unité entraîne des résultats évalués nettement supérieurs au montant réel des redevances exigibles.

Le paiement des redevances est fait séparément de la soumission des renseignements sur les redevances. Le paiement des redevances doit être fait par chèque au plus tard le 25e jour du troisième (3e) mois suivant le mois de production conformément au Règlement (sauf indication contraire dans le contrat). Les entreprises doivent donc estimer le montant des redevances. Elles doivent faire preuve de diligence dans l'estimation des redevances afin de réduire au minimum les écarts entre les montants versés et les montants évalués par PGIC au moyen des données réelles déclarées.

Les entreprises redevancières sont responsables de remettre aux Premières Nations des copies papier des renseignements sur les redevances fournis mensuellement à PGIC.

Les payeurs de redevances sont responsables de la création et de la tenue à jour des profils des utilisateurs qui ont accès au système électronique de soumission de PGIC au moyen de leur numéro de matricule. Chaque payeur de redevances va désigner un administrateur du système qui créera, mettra à jour et effacera les profils d'utilisateur.

Allocation pour coûts d'activités gazières

Pour tous les intervenants qui ont besoin d'une copie à jour des Lignes directrices sur la déclaration des redevances de PGIC; Section de Déduction pour frais d'exploitation d'installation gazière (DFEIG); veuillez contacter aadnc.gca.aandc@canada.ca.

Le Règlement, à l'article 33, annexe 1, paragraphe 2(1) prévoit une allocation pour la récolte, la déshydratation, la condensation et tout autre traitement du gaz ou de produits dérivés extraits des terres autochtones.

L’allocation pour coûts d’activités gazières est une déduction accordée en lien avec des installations données pour compenser les coûts associés au transport du gaz brut et à sa transformation en gaz commercialisable. Elle est calculée en dollars par unité de gaz commercialisable pour des frais tels que la récolte, la déshydratation, la condensation et tout autre traitement du gaz visé par les redevances et de ses composants commercialisables.

Si le producteur récolte, déshydrate, condense ou traite d’une autre façon le gaz des Premières nations dans une ou plusieurs installations dont il n’est pas un propriétaire, il peut bénéficier d’une déduction à un tarif personnalisé de traitement approuvé par PGIC. Ce tarif est appliqué aux volumes autochtones de la même façon qu'un tarif d'allocation pour coûts d'activités gazières est appliqué par installation.

Le taux d'allocation pour coûts d'activités gazières pour une entité génératrice de redevances est la somme des tarifs exigés pour toutes les installations par lesquelles le gaz commercialisable (résidu) de cette entité génératrice de redevances est récolté, déshydraté, condensé et traité.

L'allocation pour coûts d'activités gazières est déterminée en fonction du volume brut de redevances sur le gaz pour un mois et est recouvrée par rapport aux redevances brutes sur le gaz et les produits vendus, jusqu'à 50 % des redevances brutes mensuelles sur les produits et le gaz.

Les éléments suivants sont pris en compte dans le calcul de l'allocation pour coûts d'activités gazières : frais d'exploitation autorisés, coût en capital amorti et rendement sur le capital moyen. Ces éléments sont tirés de l’allocation pour coûts d’activités gazières établie dans le Règlement sur Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada et ses modifications successives.

Les entreprises doivent déposer une demande annuelle de DFEIG (Déduction pour frais d’exploitation d’installation gazière) au plus tard le 31 mai de l’année suivant l’année de production. Les demandes de déduction pour frais d’exploitation d’installation gazière (DFEIG) de PGIC sont présentées au moyen du module des DFEIG de Petrinex - PGIC.

Date de modification :