Management Plan 2018-2019

Message from the CEO

I am pleased to present IOGC's Management Plan for 2018-19.

This plan outlines our strategic and operational priorities for the fiscal year, and has been developed with input from First Nations clients and our stakeholders. The plan is anchored in our Strategic Framework, which sets out our four directional priorities:

The 2018-19 plan aligns with the objectives of the Lands and Economic Development (LED) Sector, the results framework for "Community and Regional Development", and the departmental result that "land and resources in Indigenous communities and the North are sustainably managed".

For 2018-19, IOGC will continue to focus on three priorities:

Implementation of the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 and its Phase I regulations will bring many changes to how IOGC does business and we will continue to address both the project and the people side of these changes, so we can optimize the benefits to First Nations of the new Act and regulations, modern business practices and informatics enhancements.

Given the economic challenges facing the oil and gas industry, and higher levels of oil and gas company insolvencies, IOGC will place increased emphasis on compliance and enforcement in 2018-19 to ensure the continued protection of the environment and human health and safety.

IOGC will also prioritize Co-Management Board joint work in support of First Nations assertion of jurisdiction over oil and gas resource development on First Nation lands.

The coming year will see many exciting changes and some challenges for IOGC and its staff as we adapt to both internally-driven and externally-driven changes. As in past years, IOGC will continue to work with the Indian Oil and Gas Canada Co-Management Board. We will also work with the Indian Resource Council and the Joint Technical Committee One (JTC-1). I look forward to IOGC's continued collaboration with our Board and these important advocates.

 

Strater Crowfoot
Executive Director and CEO

Executive Summary

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) is responsible for the management of oil and gas on First Nations reserve lands across Canada, primarily south of the 60th parallel.  IOGC is a separate employer and a special operating agency within Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNA). IOGC operates pursuant to the Indian Oil and Gas Act, and aligns its plans and operations with relevant CIRNA Departmental Results Framework and Treasury Board Management Accountability Framework elements.Footnote 1

Each year, the IOGC integrated planning process results in two planning documents: the first is the IOGC Management Plan which outlines the organization's high level priorities; the second is the IOGC Implementation Plan which details the project, operational and functional work plans for the year. 

IOGC's Management Plan for 2018-19 is focused on advancing IOGC's strategic direction; helping the organization realize its mandate and achieve its vision to be a ‘modern regulator' of First Nation oil and gas resources. The IOGC Management Plan is designed to strengthen the contribution IOGC makes to support "Community and Regional Development" and the departmental result that "land and resources in Indigenous communities and the North are sustainably managed".

IOGC's annual management planning cycle begins with an environmental scan, which analyses key trends in the economy; the oil and gas industry; and the legal, regulatory and environmental arenas that may affect the organization's activities in the year ahead. Insight is also gained through examination of new developments in First Nation clients and key stakeholder groups including other federal departments and agencies, oil and gas producing provinces and the energy industry. 

Key trends in 2018-19 include: global economic growth; improving oil prices; lower gas prices; increasing numbers of Canadian oil and gas company insolvencies as the industry struggles with lower prices; competitiveness; pipeline capacity constraints; continuing environmental pressures; First Nation assertion of jurisdiction; and the transition to two new departments: Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) and Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNA), from the old Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC).

In 2018-19, IOGC will focus on implementation of the Indian Oil and Gas Act (2009)Footnote 2 (IOGA, 2009) and Phase I regulations, RIMS2 systems development and will continue to work with First Nations on the development of the Phase II regulations. From an operations perspective, IOGC's focus will be on compliance and enforcement to address issues arising from the increasing number of oil and gas company insolvencies and the potential for orphaned wells on reserve lands.  IOGC will also prioritize joint work in support of First Nations assertion of jurisdiction over oil and gas resource development on First Nation lands.

Figure 1: IOGC Priority Projects for 2018-2019
Text description for Figure 1: IOGC Priorities for 2018-2019

This image makes reference to IOGC`S priorities for 2018-2019 (Shown in Figure 1) :

  • The top section shows the title of IOGC`S main project : Modern Act, Regulations and Systems (MARS)
  • Below this section are the three components of the main MARS project : These sections from left to right and titled, Act and Phase Regulations Implementation; Resource Information Management System 2 (RIMS 2); Phase II Regulations Development
Date modified:

Plan de gestion 2018-2019

Message du président-directeur général

C'est avec plaisir que je vous présente le plan de gestion de Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) de 2018-2019.

Élaboré avec l'aide d'intervenants et de clients des Premières Nations, le plan vise à décrire nos priorités stratégiques et opérationnelles escomptées pour l'exercice financier. Le plan s'articule autour de notre cadre stratégique, qui établit quatre priorités stratégiques :

Le plan  de 2018-2019 s'harmonise avec les objectifs du Secteur des terres et du développement économique (TDE), le cadre de résultats pour le « Développement communautaire et régional » et les résultats ministériels selon lesquels « les terres et les ressources des communautés autochtones et du Nord sont gérées de façon durable ».

Pour 2018-2019, PGIC continuera de travailler sur trois priorités :

La mise en œuvre de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2009 et de la première étape du Règlement transformera la façon dont PGIC mène ses activités. Nous continuerons à tenir compte des incidences de ces changements à la fois sur les projets et sur les personnes, de manière à optimiser les avantages de la nouvelle Loi et de son Règlement pour les Premières Nations ainsi qu'à mettre à profit les pratiques opérationnelles modernes et les améliorations informatiques.

Compte tenu des défis économiques auxquels fait face l'industrie pétrolière et gazière et des niveaux plus élevés d'insolvabilité des sociétés pétrolières et gazières, PGIC mettra davantage l'accent sur la conformité et l'application en 2018-2019 afin d'assurer la protection continue de l'environnement et de la santé et de la sécurité des gens.

PGIC accordera également la priorité au travail conjoint du Conseil de cogestion à l'appui de la revendication des Premières Nations du pouvoir sur le développement des ressources pétrolières et gazières sur leurs terres.

Au cours de la prochaine année, PGIC et son personnel feront face à beaucoup de changements stimulants et à certains défis tout en s'adaptant aux nouveautés émanant de l'intérieur et de l'extérieur. Comme par le passé, PGIC collaborera avec le Conseil de cogestion de Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada. Nous collaborerons également avec le Conseil des ressources indiennes et le Comité technique mixte 1 (CTM-1). Je me réjouis à l'idée que notre conseil poursuive sa collaboration avec ces intervenants importants.

 

Strater Crowfoot
Président-directeur général

Sommaire

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) a la responsabilité de gérer le pétrole et le gaz sur les terres de réserve des Premières Nations au pays, principalement au sud du 60e parallèle. PGIC est un employeur distinct et organisme de service spécial de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAAN). PGIC mène ses activités conformément à la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et harmonise ses plans et activités avec les éléments pertinents du Cadre des résultats ministériels de RCAAN et du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion du Conseil du Trésor.Note de bas de page 1 

Chaque année, deux documents de planification sont produits dans le cadre du processus de planification intégrée de PGIC, soit le plan de gestion, qui expose les priorités de haut niveau de l'organisation, et le plan de mise en œuvre, qui sert à décrire en détail les projets, activités et plans fonctionnels pour l'année. 

Le Plan de gestion de 2018-2019 est axé sur la réalisation de l'orientation stratégique de PGIC : aider l'organisation à réaliser son mandat et à concrétiser sa vision, qui consiste à devenir un organisme de réglementation moderne des ressources pétrolières et gazières des Premières Nations. Le Plan de gestion de PGIC vise à renforcer son apport au soutien du « Développement communautaire et régional » et des résultats ministériels selon lesquels « les terres et les ressources des communautés autochtones et du Nord sont gérées de façon durable ».

Le cycle annuel de planification de la gestion de PGIC commence par une analyse du contexte s'appuyant sur les principales tendances de l'économie, de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière et des domaines juridiques, réglementaires et environnementaux pouvant avoir une incidence sur les activités de l'organisation durant l'année qui vient. On obtient également de l'information en étudiant les changements chez les clients des Premières Nations et au sein des principaux groupes d'intervenants, notamment les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, l'industrie énergétique et les provinces productrices de pétrole et de gaz. 

Parmi les principales tendances en 2018-2019, mentionnons : la croissance économique mondiale; l'amélioration des prix du pétrole; la baisse des prix du gaz; l'augmentation du nombre de faillites de sociétés pétrolières et gazières canadiennes alors que l'industrie lutte contre la baisse des prix; la compétitivité; les contraintes de capacité des pipelines; les pressions environnementales continues; l'affirmation des compétences des Premières Nations et la transition vers deux nouveaux ministères : Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) et Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAAN), anciennement Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

En 2018-2019, PGIC mettra l'accent sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes (2009)Note de bas de page 2 (LPGTI 2009) et de la première étape du Règlement, développement des systèmes du SGDR2 et continuera à collaborer avec les Premières Nations pour l'élaboration de la deuxième étape du Règlement. Sur le plan opérationnel, PGIC mettra l'accent sur la conformité et l'application de la loi pour régler les problèmes découlant du nombre croissant d'insolvabilités de sociétés pétrolières et gazières et de la possibilité de puits abandonnés sur les terres de réserve. PGIC accordera également la priorité au travail conjoint à l'appui de la revendication des Premières Nations du pouvoir sur le développement des ressources pétrolières et gazières sur leurs terres.

Figure 1: Projets prioritaires de PGIC pour 2018-2019
Description textuelle de la figure 1: Prioritaires de PGIC pour 2018-2019

Cette image d’un ovale bleu fait référence aux priorités de PGIC (illustrée à la figure 1) :

  • La section rectangulaire blanche située dans le haut contient le titre du principal projet de PGIC : Modernisation de la Loi, du Règlement et des systèmes (MARS).
  • En dessous de cette section se trouvent trois boîtes ou sections blanches consacrées aux trois composantes du projet MARS : elles portent les titres suivants (de gauche à droite) : Mise en œuvre de la Loi et de la première étape du Règlement, Systèmes de gestion des données sur les ressources 2 (SGDR), Élaboration de la deuxième étape du Règlement.
Date de modification :