June 28, 2018: Comments received and amendments to the proposed Regulations as pre-published in Canada Gazette, Part 1 (CGI) and First Nations Gazette (FNG)

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100, 9911 Chiila Boulevard
TsuuT'ina, Alberta  T2W 6H6
Tel. : 403-292-5625
Fax: 403-292-5618

 

June 28, 2018

RE: Comments received and amendments to the proposed Regulations as pre-published in Canada Gazette, Part I (CGI) and First Nations Gazette (FNG)

Dear Chief and Council:

In my letter of May 22, 2018, I announced the pre-publication of the proposed Indian Oil and Gas Regulations (proposed regulations) in CGI and their simultaneous publication in the FNG. I invited you to review and to provide your feedback, if any, on the proposed regulations that will entirely replace the existing Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995

I would like to thank those First Nations and First Nation organizations who provided feedback and comments on the proposed regulations. If Chief and Council have not had an opportunity to review and comment but would like the opportunity, the proposed regulations can be found at the CGI website www.canadagazette.gc.ca and FNG website at www.fng.ca.The comment period for both publications is open until August 17, 2018. 

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) received feedback and comments relating to two areas: Continuation and Assignment that are addressed separately below:

Continuation

IOGC received comments that a discrepancy existed in section 63 regarding subsection (f) and (g). 

Section 63(f) provides for an indefinite continuance on lands within the spacing unit "that is not producing but is shown by mapping to be potentially capable of producing from the same pool" which should have been regarded in the same manner as section 63(g) "potentially productive." Therefore, section 63(f) "mapped lands" will qualify for a one (1) year continuance instead of indefinite continuance.

IOGC agrees with the comments and is proposing to make the correction to the final version before publication in Part II of the Canada Gazette.

Assignment

A new provision, section 25, under Approval of Assignment requires a meeting between the assignee and Council, if Council requests, prior to the approval of the assignment. The provision provides that "the assignee must meet with the council at its request" and provides for a delay of the Minister's approval of the assignment for 15 days, to allow time for the meeting to occur. 

The proposed change would provide for the Minister to refuse the assignment if the meeting is requested by Council but the meeting did not occur. IOGC further proposes to provide for a declaration that the meeting occurred, or that the meeting was waived by the First Nation on the application form for assignment. Therefore, the meeting would have to occur, if requested, before the application form is submitted for approval or the Minister must refuse the assignment.

IOGC agrees with the comments and is proposing to make the correction to the final version before publication in Part II of the Canada Gazette.

IOGC would like to once again thank the First Nations and First Nation organizations for any comments that have been provided on the proposed regulation. If you and your Council have any further comments, please visit the CGI website at www.canadagazette.gc.ca or the FNG website at www.fng.ca before August 17, 2018. It is anticipated the 2009 Act and proposed regulation could both come into force early in calendar year 2019.

If you would like IOGC to provide a detailed presentation on the proposed regulations at your office, please contact Pamela McNeil, Manager, Policy at (403) 292-5654, email: pamela.mcneil@canada.ca, or Shirley Conrad, Acting Communications Manager, at (403) 292-5872, email: shirley.conrad@canada.ca

Sincerely,

Strater Crowfoot
Executive Director and CEO

Date modified:

Le 28 juin 2018 : Commentaires reçus et modifications au projet de règlement publié au préalable dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada et la Gazette des premières nations (GPN)

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boulevard Chiila, bureau 100
TsuuT'ina (Alberta)  T2W 6H6
Tél. : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur : 403-292-5618

 

Le 28 juin 2018

Objet : Commentaires reçus et modifications au projet de règlement publié au préalable dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada et la Gazette des premières nations (GPN)

Cher Chef et conseil,

Dans ma lettre du 22 mai 2018, j'ai annoncé la publication préalable du projet de règlement sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes dans la Gazette du Canada et dans la GPN. Je vous ai invité à examiner ce projet de règlement, qui remplacera entièrement le Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes, et à nous faire part de vos commentaires, le cas échéant. 

J'aimerais remercier les Premières Nations et les organismes des Premières Nations qui m'ont fait part de leurs commentaires sur le projet de règlement. Si le chef et les conseillers n'ont pas eu l'occasion d'examiner le projet de règlement et d'émettre leurs commentaires, mais qu'ils aimeraient le faire, ils peuvent le consulter sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à www.gazetteducanada.gc.ca, et sur celui de la GPN, à www.fng.ca. La période de commentaires pour les deux publications est ouverte jusqu'au 17 août 2018. 

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) a reçu de la rétroaction et des commentaires concernant deux domaines, à savoir, la reconduction et la cession, lesquels sont traités séparément ci-dessous :

Reconduction

PGIC a reçu des commentaires à l'effet qu'il existait une divergence entre les alinéas 63(1)f) et 63(1)g). 

L'alinéa 63(1)f) prévoit une reconduction indéfinie sur les terres situées dans une unité d'espacement qui « ne produit pas, mais, selon la cartographie, a la capacité de produire à partir du même gisement » qui aurait dû être considérée de la même manière que l'alinéa 63(1)g) « potentiellement productive ». Par conséquent, l'alinéa 63(1)f) « terres cartographiées » sera admissible à une reconduction d'un (1) an au lieu d'une reconduction indéfinie.

PGIC est d'accord avec les commentaires et propose d'apporter la correction à la version définitive avant sa publication dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

Cession

Une nouvelle disposition, le paragraphe 25(4), sous la rubrique « Cession », exige une rencontre entre le cessionnaire et le conseil, si le conseil en fait la demande, avant l'approbation de la cession. La disposition prévoit que « le cessionnaire rencontre en personne le conseil qui en fait la demande » et prévoit un délai de quinze jours pour l'approbation de la cession par le ministre, afin de permettre la tenue de la réunion. 

La modification proposée permettrait au ministre de refuser la cession si la réunion est demandée par le conseil, mais qu'elle n'a pas lieu. PGIC propose, en outre, de prévoir une déclaration indiquant que la réunion a eu lieu ou que la Première Nation a renoncé à la réunion sur le formulaire de demande de cession. Par conséquent, la réunion devrait avoir lieu, sur demande, avant que le formulaire de demande ne soit soumis pour approbation ou que le ministre ne refuse la cession.

PGIC est d'accord avec les commentaires et nous proposons d'apporter la correction à la version définitive avant sa publication dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

PGIC tient à remercier une fois de plus les Premières Nations et les organismes des Premières Nations pour les commentaires qu'ils ont formulés sur le projet de règlement. Si vous et vos conseillers avez d'autres commentaires, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à www.gazetteducanada.gc.ca, ou celui de la GPN, à www.fng.ca, avant le 17 août 2018. Il est prévu que la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes (2009) et le projet de règlement pourraient tous deux entrer en vigueur au début de l'année civile 2019.

Si vous souhaitez que PGIC fasse une présentation détaillée sur le projet de règlement à votre bureau, veuillez communiquer avec Pamela McNeil, gestionnaire des politiques, au 403-292-5654 ou à pamela.mcneil@canada.ca, ou avec Shirley Conrad, gestionnaire par intérim des communications, au 403-292-5872 ou à shirley.conrad@canada.ca

Cordialement,

Strater Crowfoot
Directeur administratif et président-directeur général

Date de modification :