Update on the Modernization of the Act, Regulations and Systems (MARS)

Reporting Period April 1, 2019 to June 30, 2019

1. Important Notice for All IOGC Contacts and Clients:

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) is pleased to announce that the2009 amendments to the Indian Oil and Gas Act and the Phase I regulations will both come into force and become law on August 1, 2019. Public notices were published simultaneously, on June 26, 2019, in both the Canada Gazette, Part II and in the First Nations Gazette. The relevant information can be found on-line:

This important accomplishment and milestone would not be possible without the participation, review, and feedback from IOGC's many contacts and clients.

The new legislative and regulatory regime is intended to strike a balance between: 1) the clarity and certainty required by industry when making their investment decisions; and, 2) the flexibility that First Nations desire so they can customize their business arrangements to fit the needs and aspirations of their communities and community members. As we get closer to the August 1, 2019 coming into force date, IOGC will be providing more specific information to facilitate a smooth transition from the existing ruleset to the new ruleset. Please direct all enquiries to aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca OR aadnc.contacterpgic.aandc@canada.ca 

2. Engagement and Outreach on the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 2019

IOGC continues to host engagement and outreach meetings on the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 2019. If you would like to meet with IOGC on the regulations, please contact:

Pamela McNeil, Policy Manager
Telephone: (403) 292-5654
Email: Pamela.McNeil@Canada.ca

or

Shirley Conrad, Communications Officer
Telephone: (403) 292-5872
Email: Shirley.Conrad@Canada.ca

a) Information for First Nations Clients

IOGC has entered into an agreement with the Indian Resource Council (IRC) that would assist the IRC in providing Readiness Training to First Nations in preparing for the implementation of the Indian Oil and Gas Act, 2009 and the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 2019. Oil and gas-producing First Nations are being contacted by the IRC to schedule these sessions. For more information, please contact David Shade, IRC's JTC-1 Program Manager (davids@irccanada.ca or 403-281-8308).

b) Information for Industry Stakeholders

IOGC held Industry Engagement Information Sessions on November 7 & 8, 2018. These sessions were hosted in meeting spaces that were kindly made available to IOGC by the National Energy Board in downtown Calgary. Participants included all industry partners that operate on First Nations' lands and petroleum associations. Feedback received at these sessions was used to develop Frequently-Asked Questions (FAQs) which have been posted on IOGC's Internet website.

In the preceding issue of this Newsletter, we informed IOGC contacts and clients that an article regarding IOGC's new Act and regulations (PDF) was published in the February 2019 edition of "The Negotiator" magazine published by the Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen (CAPL). As a non-government organization.

3. Implementation of 2009 Act and Phase I regulations – Readiness Update:

IOGC is ensuring that it is ready, as an organization, to move on August 1, 2019 from the 1974 Act and its 1995 regulations to the 2009 Act and its 2019 regulations. For the past few months, IOGC has been conducting dry-runs and simulation exercises to ensure that it will be ready to implement, administer, and enforce the 2009 Act and the 2019 regulations by August 1, 2019. Please note, IOGC service standards may be lengthened during this important transition process.

4. RIMS2 Project Update:

The RIMS2 systems development is independent of the "Implementation of the 2009 Act and Phase I regulations." The new RIMS2 system functionality is projected to come on-line after the 2009 Act and Phase I regulations have both become law.

A major project milestone was reached during the past reporting period as new Gas Cost Allowance (GCA) capability was developed and deployed. IOGC's contacts and clients will be using this new feature for the next period for their GCA reporting and the new tools and processes are expected to facilitate and streamline reporting.

FY2019-2020 will be challenging yet exciting times for the RIMS2 Project as systems development is scheduled to be completed. New components will progressively be implemented as they are readied.

The Sierra project team, with IOGC has completed over 90% of the task of developing the royalty calculation mechanisms needed for active leases in Saskatche an. Ten major types have been identified; all have completed acceptance testing. Development of the systems to process the data and to provide an assessment is continuing. Work has now shifted to the defining the major types or schema as identified in Alberta. To date, 19 major types have been identified with approximately 50 % of the active leases being reviewed.

At the same time the development team is reviewing the design of the interfaces for the exchange of data between Petrinex and IOGC as well as internal interfaces within our systems (RIMS and RIMS2). Test data has been shared by Petrinex for our use in developing the interface, unpacking the data and providing it to the calculation engine. Work is progressing for a Q4 Go Live within the Saskatchewan royalty reporting scope.

The Petrinex Industry Readiness Team has begun preparations to communicate and train companies in Saskatchewan to submit the data as designed. Each company is required to provide a Change Leader to manage their conversion.

The RIMS2 Communications Plan, required for project gating approvals processes, is being updated and is undergoing internal review and approvals.

5. Phase II Regulations – Project Update

The Phase II regulations are out of scope of the "Implementation of the 2009 Act and Phase I regulations." Phase II regulations will continue to be developed and brought into force, as they are readied. By the end of this process, the existing Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 will have been entirely replaced by new, modern regulations.

With the 2009 Act and its 2019 regulations close to becoming law, the IRC and the Joint Technical Committee (JTC) have decided to focus their efforts in ensuring First Nations are ready for the new legislative and regulatory regime. Work on the Phase II regulations will be postponed until FY2019-2020. Currently, joint work between the JTC and IOGC is not projected to take place during Q1 or Q2. In its place, the JTC will focus on developing a strategic approach for the Royalty Management and Environment regulation modules that would reflect both the position of the JTC / IRC but also of their respective individual First Nations. The results of this work is expected to be presented to IOGC in Q3 of FY2019-2020 when IOGC will be expected to re-engage the JTC on the development of regulatory drafting instructions.

6. Organizational Change Management (OCM) Update:

OCM has spent the last quarter focused on working with business units and their cross-functional partners to plan, execute and collaborate on a series of dry-run exercises focused on the main areas of change resulting from the 2009 Act and its 2019 regulations that affect more than one business unit. The results of the dry-run exercises are being used to address gaps and improve processes.

For the RIMS2 project, OCM has been involved as IOGC engaged with Sierra on project governance and establishing a better defined process for working together.

7. Other News

  • On June 21, 2019, Bill C-97 – an Act to implement the Budget, received Royal Assent. As a result, IOGC will soon be reporting to the Minister of Indigenous Services Canada (prior to this, IOGC reported to the Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada).
  • The final version of IOGC's Annual Report for FY2017-2018 is now available on IOGC's Internet website
  • IOGC officials attended the Global Petroleum Show June 11 to 13 held at Calgary's BMO Centre. IOGC officials were available to address any questions or concerns regarding the new Act and regulations.
  • Please note, effective June 17, 2019 – Canada Post has changed IOGC's Postal Code to T3T 0E1.

For further information on IOGC or the MARS Portfolio of projects, please contact IOGC at:

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100 – 9911 boul. Chiila Blvd.
Tsuut'ina AB  T3T 0E1
Phone / Téléphone: (403) 292-5625
Fax / Télécopieur: (403) 292-5618
Email: aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca

Date modified:

Le point sur la modernisation de la Loi du Règlement et des systèmes (MARS)

Période visée : du 1er avril 2019 au 30 juin 2019

1. Avis important pour toutes les personnes-ressources et clients de PGIC

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) est heureux d'annoncer que les modifications apportées en 2009 à la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et à l'étape 1 du Règlement entreront en vigueur le 1er août 2019. Des avis publics ont été publiés simultanément, le 26 juin 2019, dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canadaet dans la Gazette des Premières Nations. Les renseignements pertinents peuvent être trouvés en ligne :

Cette réalisation et ce jalon importants ne seraient pas possibles sans la participation, l'examen et la rétroaction des nombreuses personnes-ressources et des nombreux clients de PGIC.

Le nouveau régime législatif et réglementaire vise à établir un équilibre entre : 1) la clarté et la certitude requises par l'industrie lorsqu'elle prend des décisions en matière d'investissement; 2) la souplesse souhaitée par les Premières Nations afin qu'elles puissent adapter leurs arrangements commerciaux aux besoins et aux aspirations de leurs collectivités et de leurs membres. À l'approche de la date d'entrée en vigueur du 1er août 2019, PGIC fournira des renseignements plus précis afin de faciliter une transition en douceur depuis l'ensemble de règles existant vers le nouvel ensemble de règles. Veuillez adresser toute demande de renseignements à aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca ou aadnc.contacterpgic.aandc@canada.ca.

2. Mobilisation et sensibilisation au sujet du Règlement de 2019 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes

PGIC continue d'organiser des séances de mobilisation et de sensibilisation à propos du Règlement de 2019 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes. Si vous souhaitez rencontrer des représentants de PGIC au sujet de ce règlement, veuillez communiquer avec :

Pamela McNeil, gestionnaire des politiques
Tél : 403-292-5654
Courriel : Pamela.McNeil@Canada.ca

ou

Shirley Conrad, agente des communications
Tél : 403-292-5872
Courriel : Shirley.Conrad@Canada.ca

a) Renseignements à l'intention des Premières Nations clientes

PGIC a conclu avec le Conseil des ressources indiennes (CRI) une entente destinée à aider la SRI à fournir une formation préparatoire aux Premières Nations en vue de l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi de 2009 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et du Règlement de 2019 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes. La SRI communique actuellement avec les Premières Nations productrices de pétrole et de gaz afin de planifier ces séances. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec David Shade, gestionnaire du programme JTC-1 de la SRI (davids@irccanada.ca ou 403-281-8308).

b) Renseignements à l'intention des parties prenantes de l'industrie

PGIC a tenu des séances d'information sur la mobilisation de l'industrie les 7 et 8 novembre 2018. Ces séances ont eu lieu dans des salles de réunion qui ont été gracieusement mises à la disposition de PGIC par l'Office national de l'énergie, au centre-ville de Calgary. Les participants étaient constitués de tous les partenaires de l'industrie qui exercent leurs activités sur les terres des Premières Nations et des associations pétrolières. Les commentaires reçus lors de ces séances ont servi à rédiger une foire aux questions (FAQ) qui a été publiée sur le site Web de PGIC.

Dans le précédent numéro du présent bulletin, nous avons fait savoir aux personnes-ressources et clients d'IOGC qu'un article de PGIC sur la nouvelle Loi et le nouveau Règlement (PDF non disponible en français)a été publié dans l'édition de février 2019 du magazine « The Negotiator » de la Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen (CAPL). La CAPL étant une organisation non gouvernementale, l'article est disponible en anglais seulement :

3. Mise en œuvre de la Loi de 2009 et de l'étape 1 du Règlement – Le point sur l'état de préparation 

À titre d'organisme, PGIC fait en sorte d'être prêt lorsque, le 1er août 2019, on passera de la Loi de 1974 et son règlement de 1995 à la Loi de 2009 et son règlement de 2019. Au cours des derniers mois, PGIC a mené des exercices d'essai et des simulations pour s'assurer qu'il sera prêt à mettre en œuvre, à administrer et à appliquer la Loi de 2009 et le Règlement de 2019 d'ici le 1er août 2019. Veuillez noter que les normes de service de PGIC pourraient être prolongées au cours de cet important processus de transition.

4. Le point sur le projet SGDR2 

Il convient de noter que l'élaboration du SGDR2 est un projet indépendant du projet de « mise en œuvre de la Loi de 2009 et de l'étape 1 du Règlement ». La nouvelle fonctionnalité du SGDR2 devrait être mise en ligne après l'adoption de la Loi de 2009 et de l'étape 1 du Règlement.

Un jalon majeur du projet a été franchi au cours de la période précédente avec le lancement de la nouvelle fonction relative à l'allocation pour coûts d'activités gazières. Les clients et les personnes-ressources de PGIC utiliseront cette fonction lors de la prochaine période pour produire leurs rapports sur l'allocation pour coûts d'activités gazières. Les nouveaux outils et processus devraient faciliter et rationaliser la production de rapports.

L'exercice 2019-2020 sera stimulant et rempli de défis pour le projet de SGDR2, puisqu'on devrait achever la mise au point du système. De nouveaux composants seront progressivement mis en œuvre au fur et à mesure qu'ils seront prêts.

L'équipe de projet de Sierra, conjointement avec PGIC, a élaboré à 90 % les mécanismes de calcul des redevances nécessaires pour les baux en vigueur en Saskatchewan. Dix grands types ont été cernés; d'ailleurs, les essais d'acceptation sont terminés pour l'ensemble d'entre eux. L'élaboration des systèmes de traitement des données et d'évaluation se poursuit. Il reste maintenant à traiter les principaux types ou schémas relevés en Alberta. Jusqu'à maintenant, 19 principaux types ont été cernés et environ 50 % des baux actifs font l'objet d'un examen.

Parallèlement, l'équipe de développement examine la conception des interfaces d'échange de données entre Petrinex et PGIC, ainsi que les interfaces à l'intérieur même de nos systèmes (SGDR et SGDR2). Petrinex nous a transmis les données des essais afin que nous puissions élaborer l'interface, décondenser les données et les verser dans le moteur de calcul. Les travaux progressent en vue d'un lancement au quatrième trimestre pour la déclaration des redevances de la Saskatchewan.

L'équipe de Petrinex chargée de la préparation de l'industrie a commencé les préparatifs en vue de communiquer avec les entreprises de la Saskatchewan et à les former afin qu'elles soient en mesure de soumettre les données comme prévu. Chaque entreprise est tenue de désigner un responsable du changement pour gérer sa conversion.

Le plan de communications pour le projet de SGDR2, exigé pour les processus d'approbation de projet, est en cours de mise à jour et fait actuellement l'objet d'un processus d'examen et d'approbation interne.

5. Étape 2 du Règlement – Le point sur le projet 

L'étape 2 du Règlement n'est pas visée par la portée du projet de « mise en œuvre de la Loi de 2009 et de l'étape 1 du Règlement ». L'étape 2 du Règlement continuera d'être élaborée et mise en application à mesure qu'elle sera prête. À l'issue de ce processus, le Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des Indiens aura été entièrement remplacé par un nouveau règlement moderne.

La Loi de 2009 et son règlement de 2019 étant sur le point d'être adoptés, le CRI et le Comité technique mixte (CTM) ont décidé de concentrer leurs efforts pour garantir que les Premières Nations seront prêtes pour le nouveau régime législatif et réglementaire. Par conséquent, les travaux portant sur l'étape 2 du Règlement seront reportés à l'exercice 2019-2020. À l'heure actuelle, aucun travail conjoint entre le CTM et PGIC n'est prévu pour le premier ou le deuxième trimestre. Le CTM se concentrera plutôt sur l'élaboration d'une approche stratégique pour les modules de réglementation de la gestion des redevances et de l'environnement qui représenterait non seulement la position du CTM et du CRI, mais également celle de leurs Premières Nations respectives. Les résultats de ces travaux devraient être présentés à PGIC au cours du troisième trimestre de l'exercice 2019-2020, moment où PGIC devrait demander de nouveau au CTM de participer à l'élaboration des directives de rédaction de la réglementation.

6. Le point sur la gestion du changement (GC)

L'équipe de GC a consacré le dernier trimestre à travailler avec les unités opérationnelles et leurs partenaires interfonctionnels afin de planifier et d'exécuter une série d'exercices de fonctionnement, et d'y collaborer. Ces exercices sont axés sur les principaux domaines de changement découlant de la Loi de 2009 et de son règlement de 2019 qui touchent plus d'une unité opérationnelle. Les résultats des exercices de fonctionnement sont utilisés pour combler les lacunes et améliorer les processus.

Dans le cadre du projet SGDR2, l'équipe de GC a participé aux travaux de collaboration de PGIC et Sierra sur la gouvernance du projet et l'établissement d'un processus de collaboration mieux défini.

7. Autres nouvelles

  • Le 21 juin 2019, le projet de loi C-97, Loi portant exécution du budget, a reçu la sanction royale. Par conséquent, PGIC relèvera bientôt de la ministre des Services aux Autochtones Canada (auparavant, PGIC relevait de la ministre des Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada).
  • La version définitive du rapport annuel de l'exercice 2017-2018 est maintenant disponible sur le site Web de PGIC .
  • Des représentants de PGIC ont assisté au Global Petroleum Show qui s'est déroulé du 11 au 13 juin au Centre BMO de Calgary. Des représentants de PGIC se trouvaient sur place pour répondre à toute question ou préoccupation concernant la nouvelle Loi et le nouveau règlement.
  • Veuillez noter que depuis le 17 juin 2019, Postes Canada a modifié le code postal de PGIC, qui est maintenant T3T 0E1.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de PGIC et du portefeuille de projets de MARS, veuillez communiquer avec PGIC :

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boul. Chiila Blvd., bureau 100
Tsuut'ina (Alberta)  T3T 0E1
Téléphone / Phone : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur / Fax : 403-292-5618
Courriel : aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca

Date de modification :