Issuance and Administration of Subsurface Contracts

Table of contents

Overview

Subsurface contracts (permits and subsurface leases) provide companies with the exclusive right to exploit the oil and gas in a contract area. (IOGC) assists First Nations to dispose of their oil and gas rights through the granting of subsurface contracts, including assisting with the negotiation of these contracts with companies and ensuring fair value for First Nations. IOGC drafts, issues and administers the contracts and collects bonuses, royalties and rents from companies on behalf of First Nations.

Both IOGC and the First Nation must approve the granting of a subsurface contract to a company.

All subsurface contracts are granted pursuant to the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 2019 ("Regulations") and are subject to its terms and conditions.

Processes to Obtain a Subsurface Contract from IOGC

There are two processes used by (IOGC) to dispose of oil and gas rights on First Nation lands and for a company to obtain a subsurface contract (subsection 35(2) of the Regulations):

  1. Public Tender (s. 39-42) - A company submits a bid in response to the issuance of a Notice of Tender by IOGC and a First Nation. The bonus price is the only competitive element. All other terms and conditions are fixed. The highest bonus is either accepted or all bids are rejected.
  2. Negotiations (s. 44-46) - A company and a First Nation will complete preliminary negotiations and then the company may submit an Application for a Subsurface Contract to IOGC for approval. Items to be negotiated include: the type of subsurface contract, the lands to be included in the contract area, the amount of the bonus to be paid, the drilling commitments, the royalty to be paid, and in the case of a permit; the initial term and intermediate term and the earning provisions.

For the purpose of soliciting interest in First Nation lands, the Negotiations process may be preceded by a call for proposals in accordance with section 43 of the Regulations.

Types of Subsurface Contracts on First Nation Lands

There are two types of subsurface contracts granted on First Nation lands:

  1. Permits - Permits give a company the exclusive right to exploit the oil and gas in the lands in the contract area, to treat that oil, to process that gas and to dispose of that oil and gas. Permits are usually large blocks of land and may include the entire Indian reserve. Some important aspects of permits are:
    1. The initial term is 2 to 5 years and the intermediate term is 3 years (sections 48 and 50 of the Regulations).
    2. The rent is $5.00 per hectare with a minimum of $100.00 (section 51 of the Regulations).
    3. A permit holder earns lands during the initial term if they have drilled a well in the permit area or re-entered an existing well. The permit holder may select these earned lands to hold for the intermediate term of the permit (sections 52 to 54 of the Regulations).
  2. Subsurface Leases - Subsurface leases give companies the exclusive right to exploit the oil and gas in the lands in the contract area, to treat that oil, to process that gas and to dispose of that oil and gas. These leases are usually small blocks of land, though there are several large leases on First Nation lands. Some important aspects of subsurface leases are:
    1. The initial term is 3 years (sections 49 and 50).
    2. The rent is $5.00 per hectare with a minimum of $100.00 (section 51 of the Regulations).

Application Process to Obtain a Subsurface Contract from IOGC

To obtain a subsurface contract from (IOGC), a company must follow one of the two processes listed previously.

For the negotiation process, once the terms and conditions of a subsurface contract have been agreed to by the First Nation and the company, the company must submit an Application for a Subsurface Contract (along with the non-refundable $250 application fee) to IOGC for approval. If the application is approved, IOGC will prepare the subsurface contract and send a copy to the company and the First Nation for signing. If the application is not approved, IOGC will send a notice of refusal to the company and the First Nation which sets out the reason for the refusal.

IOGC invoices the company for the bonus and first year’s rent and all moneys must be paid to the Receiver General for Canada (section 19 of the Regulations).

IOGC will grant the contract if within 90 days of the company and the First Nation receiving the contract, IOGC receives:

  1. the signed original Band Council Resolutions (which form part of the subsurface contract) from the First Nation;
  2. the bonus and first year’s rent from the company; and
  3. the signed originals of the contract from the company

If IOGC does not receive these items within the 90-day deadline, the contract will not be granted, the contract will be terminated and, if applicable, the bonus and first year’s rent will be refunded to the company.

Once a subsurface contract has been granted, the company must apply for and be granted a surface contract prior to conducting any drilling operations. For further information on these matters, please refer to the Environmental Requirements and Issuance and Administration of Surface Agreements sections of the business cycle. Companies must also obtain from the relevant provincial authority any approval that is required to carry out drilling in the province and submit it to both IOGC and the First Nation before commencing operations.

Additionally, companies must obtain and maintain during the term of the contract, an insurance policy that is adequate to cover all risks resulting from the operations to be carried out under the contract (section 9 of the Regulations).

For further information on obtaining a subsurface contract, please contact IOGC's Manager, Negotiations, Subsurface Contracts and Research.

Payments Due under Subsurface Contracts

Bonuses, rents and royalties are payable to the Receiver General for Canada and are to be submitted to (IOGC) on behalf of the First Nation (section 19 of the Regulations). All fees and administrative monetary penalties set out in Schedule 1 and Schedule 6 of the Regulations are also payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

Companies must pay annual rents for permits and subsurface leases.

IOGC provides companies with a monthly Statement of Account for surface and subsurface contracts. Interest is charged on late payments and outstanding amounts under the authority of the Interest and Administrative Charges Regulations.

Selection of Lands for the Intermediate Term of a Permit

Before the end of the initial term of a permit, the permit holder may submit a Land Selection application to (IOGC) to select permit lands earned by drilling or re-entering wells in the permit area. If the application is approved, IOGC grants the oil and gas rights in the selected lands for the intermediate term of the permit and sends the permit holder and the First Nation a notice of the approval and an amended land description of the permit. If the application is not approved, IOGC sends the permit holder a notice of refusal that sets out the reasons for the refusal (sections 52 to 54 of the Regulations).

Term Extensions

The term of a subsurface contract may be amended to a maximum of 5 years (subsections 20(1) and 50(2) of the Regulations).

More information:

Date modified:

Délivrance et administration des contrats relatifs au sous-sol

Table des matières

Aperçu

Les contrats relatifs au sous-sol (permis et baux) accordent aux entreprises le droit exclusif de mener des activités pétrolières et gazières dans la zone visée par le contrat. Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) aide les Premières Nations à aliéner leurs droits pétroliers et gaziers en attribuant de tels contrats. Il participe notamment à la négociation des contrats avec les entreprises et aide les Premières Nations à obtenir une juste valeur. PGIC rédige les contrats, les délivre et les administre, en plus de recueillir les pas de porte, les redevances et les loyers des entreprises au nom des Premières Nations.

PGIC et la Première Nation doivent approuver l’attribution d’un contrat relatif au sous-sol à une entreprise.

Tous les contrats relatifs au sous-sol sont accordés en vertu du Règlement sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 2019 (le « Règlement ») et doivent respecter ses conditions.

Processus à suivre pour obtenir un contrat relatif au sous-sol de PGIC

(PGIC) utilise deux processus pour procéder à l’aliénation de droits pétroliers et gaziers sur les terres des Premières Nations. Pour obtenir un contrat relatif au sous-sol, les entreprises doivent suivre l’un ou l’autre de ces processus (paragraphe 35(2) du Règlement) :

  1. Adjudication (articles 39 à 42) - Une entreprise présente une soumission à la suite de la publication d’un avis d’appel d’offres par PGIC et une Première Nation. Le montant du pas de porte est le seul élément concurrentiel. Toutes les autres conditions sont fixes. Soit le pas de porte le plus élevé est accepté, soit toutes les soumissions sont rejetées.
  2. Négociation (articles 44 à 46) - Une entreprise et une Première Nation entreprennent des négociations préliminaires, puis l’entreprise peut présenter une demande de contrat relatif au sous-sol, que PGIC doit approuver. Les éléments à négocier comprennent : le type de contrat relatif au sous-sol, les parcelles à inclure dans la zone visée par le contrat, le montant du pas de porte à verser, les engagements en matière de forage, les redevances à payer et, dans le cas d’un permis, les périodes de validité initiale et intermédiaire et les dispositions relatives aux acquisitions.

Le processus de négociation peut être précédé d’un appel de propositions pour obtenir des expressions d’intérêt à l’égard des terres des Premières Nations (article 43 du Règlement).

Types de contrats relatifs au sous-sol pour les terres des Premières Nations

Types de contrats relatifs au sous-sol pour les terres des Premières Nations :

  1. Permis - Les permis accordent aux entreprises le droit exclusif de mener des activités pétrolières et gazières dans la zone visée par le contrat, le droit de traiter le pétrole et de transformer le gaz et le droit de disposer du pétrole et du gaz. Les permis portent généralement sur de grandes parcelles de terre et peuvent inclure la totalité d’une réserve indienne. Voici quelques aspects importants d’un permis :
    1. La période de validité initiale est de deux à cinq ans, et la période de validité intermédiaire est de trois ans (articles 48 et 50 du Règlement);
    2. Le loyer est de 5 $ par hectare, ou d’un montant minimum de 100 $ (article 51 du Règlement);
    3. Le titulaire acquiert des terres au cours de la période de validité initiale s’il a foré un puits dans la zone visée par le permis ou s’il est rentré dans un puits existant. Il peut choisir les terres acquises et les conserver pendant la période de validité intermédiaire (articles 52 à 54 du Règlement).
  2. Baux - Les baux accordent aux entreprises le droit exclusif de mener des activités pétrolières et gazières dans la zone visée par le contrat, le droit de traiter le pétrole et de transformer le gaz et le droit de disposer du pétrole et du gaz. Les baux portent généralement sur de petites parcelles de terre, mais il y a aussi plusieurs baux couvrant de grandes étendues sur les terres des Premières Nations. Voici quelques aspects importants d’un bail :
    1. La période de validité initiale est de trois ans (articles 49 et 50 du Règlement).
    2. Le loyer est de 5 $ par hectare, ou d’un montant minimum de 100 $ (article 51 du Règlement).

Processus de demande pour obtenir un contrat relatif au sous-sol de PGIC

Pour obtenir un contrat relatif au sous-sol de (PGIC), une entreprise doit suivre un des deux processus énumérés précédemment.

Pour le processus de négociation, une fois que la Première Nation et l’entreprise ont convenu des conditions du contrat, l’entreprise doit présenter à PGIC une demande de contrat relatif au sous-sol (et verser des frais de demande non remboursables de 250 $). Si la demande est approuvée, PGIC prépare le contrat et en envoie une copie à l’entreprise et à la Première Nation pour obtenir leur signature. Si la demande n’est pas approuvée, PGIC envoie un avis de refus motivé à l’entreprise et à la Première Nation.

PGIC facture à l’entreprise le pas de porte et le loyer de la première année. Tous les fonds doivent être versés au receveur général du Canada (article 19 du Règlement).

PGIC accorde le contrat s’il reçoit les documents suivants dans les 90 jours suivant la réception du contrat par l’entreprise et la Première Nation :

  1. les résolutions originales du conseil de bande (qui font partie du contrat relatif au sous-sol) signées par la Première Nation;
  2. le pas de porte et le loyer de la première année, versés par l’entreprise;
  3. les documents originaux du contrat signés par l’entreprise.

Si PGIC ne reçoit pas ces documents dans le délai de 90 jours, le contrat est résilié et, le cas échéant, le pas de porte et le loyer de la première année sont remboursés à l’entreprise.

Après avoir obtenu le contrat relatif au sous-sol, l’entreprise doit demander et obtenir un contrat relatif au sol avant de mener des activités de forage. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez consulter les sections du cycle des affaires « Exigences environnementales » et « Délivrance et administration des ententes de surface ». L’entreprise doit également obtenir de l’autorité provinciale compétente toutes les autorisations requises pour effectuer des travaux de forage dans la province et les soumettre à PGIC et à la Première Nation avant de commencer ses travaux.

L’entreprise doit également obtenir et conserver pendant la période du contrat une assurance offrant une protection adéquate pour tous les risques associés aux activités qui seront réalisées dans le cadre du contrat (article 9 du Règlement).

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon d’obtenir un contrat relatif au sous-sol, veuillez communiquer avec le gestionnaire responsable des négociations, des contrats relatifs au sous-sol et de la recherche à PGIC.

Sommes à verser en vertu des contrats relatifs au sous-sol

Tout montant de pas de porte, de loyer et de redevances est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit être envoyé à (PGIC) au nom de la Première Nation (article 19 du Règlement). Les frais et les sanctions administratives pécuniaires prévus aux annexes 1 et 6 du Règlement sont également payables au receveur général du Canada.

Les entreprises paient un loyer annuel pour les permis et les baux relatifs au sous-sol.

PGIC fournit aux entreprises un état de compte mensuel pour leurs contrats relatifs au sous-sol et au sol. Des intérêts sont facturés pour les paiements en retard et les montants non payés en vertu du Règlement sur les intérêts et les frais administratifs.

Sélection de terres pour la période de validité intermédiaire du permis

Avant la fin de la période de validité initiale du permis, le titulaire peut présenter à (PGIC) une demande de sélection de terres afin de choisir des terres acquises dans le cadre du permis en forant un puits ou en rentrant dans un puits existant dans la zone visée par le permis. Si la demande est approuvée, PGIC octroie les droits pétroliers et gaziers sur les terres sélectionnées pour la période de validité intermédiaire du permis et envoie au titulaire et à la Première Nation un avis à cet effet ainsi qu’une description modifiée des terres en vertu du permis. Si la demande est rejetée, PGIC envoie au titulaire un avis de refus motivé (articles 52 à 54 du Règlement).

Prolongation de la période

La période d’un contrat relatif au sous-sol peut être modifiée. La période maximale est de cinq ans (paragraphes 20(1) et 50(2) du Règlement).

Renseignements supplémentaires :

Date de modification :