July 19, 2018 - Letter: Comments relating to the proposed Regulations as pre-published in Canada Gazette, Part I (CGI) and First Nations Gazette (FNG)

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100, 9911 Chiila Boulevard
TsuuT'ina, Alberta  T2W 6H6
Tel. : 403-292-5625
Fax: 403-292-5618
www.pgic.gc.ca

 

July 19, 2018

 

Dear Sir/Madame:

RE: Comments relating to the proposed Regulations as pre-published in Canada Gazette, Part I (CGI) and First Nations Gazette (FNG)

In my letter dated, June 28, 2018, I invited you to review and provide feedback, if any, to amendments to the pre-published version of the proposed regulations that will entirely replace the existing Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995.

The proposed regulations are intended to modernize the oil and gas regime on First Nations reserve lands in Canada. The proposed regulations are available for review and comment in CGI at www.canadagazette.gc.ca and on the FNG website at www.fng.ca. The comment period began on May 19, 2018 and will continue until August 17, 2018.

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) also received comments relating to four additional areas: Record Search; First Nation Audit; Opening of bids; Compensatory Royalty and related parties; that are addressed separately below:

Record Search

IOGC received comments that the term "contractual documentation" is too broad and may allow for the inadvertent disclosure of confidential.

Section 2(5) provides that "A person may apply for a record search of non-confidential, contractual documentation…" in the Minister’s possession. It is proposed that the word "contractual" be removed and a non-exclusive list be provided to aid in the interpretation of the provision.

IOGC agrees with the comments and is proposing to make the correction to the final version before publication in Part II of the Canada Gazette (CGII).

First Nation Audit

A new provision in the proposed regulations, section 86(2), First Nation Audits and Examinations, set out criteria for the "…person who conducts an audit or examination under the Act…" and may unintentionally disqualify auditors who have previously been "affiliated" with an oil or gas company.

There is a request for further clarification on the interpretation of the provision but there is no proposed change being requested at this time.

IOGC agrees with the comment and is proposing to provide further clarification prior to the final version being published in CGII.

Opening of Bids

IOGC received comments that the timeline for the acceptance of bids, as it relates to the tender process, is unrealistic.

Section 42(4) provides the Council with "…seven days after the day on which the tender closes…" to notify the Minister that they are rejecting the highest bid. It is proposed that the timeline of fifteen days is a more realistic timeframe for Council to convene and provide such notice to the Minister.

IOGC agrees with the comments and is proposing to change the timeframe in the final version before publication in CGII.

Compensatory Royalty and Related Parties

IOGC received comments that the provisions relating to the difference in the compensatory royalty payable on confidential wells as opposed to non-confidential wells is detrimental to First Nations. Furthermore, the definition of related parties under section 82(4) should be expanded.

Section 93 to 102, Equitable Production of Oil and Gas, provides that offset notices be sent, outlining compensatory royalty payable, to the contract holder within different timeframes depending on whether the well is considered confidential or non-confidential. It is proposed that a pre-offset notice be sent to the contract holders, in the case of confidential wells, that set out that compensatory royalty be calculated in the same manner as non-confidential wells.

Section 82(4), related parties, sets out that "…section 251 of the Income Tax Act…" be referred to when seeking the definition of related parties. It is proposed that the definition of related parties be amended to "…related persons, affiliated persons or associated corporations … as determined in accordance with subsections 251(2), 251.1(1) and 256(1) of the Income Tax Act."

IOGC agrees with the comments and is proposing to make the correction to the final version before publication in CGII.

IOGC has received feedback and comments relating to a concept from the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995 (IOGR, 1995) relating to Fair Market Value.

The provisions relating to the concept of Fair Market Value, Schedule 1 section 4 of the IOGR, 1995 were not brought forward in its entirety. It is proposed that the provisions be brought forward into the proposed regulations.

IOGC agrees with the feedback and is proposing to bring forward the concept, under Fair Value, before publication in CGII.

In addition to the above, IOGC received comments that subsection 49(2)(g) of the IOGR, 1995, addressing the financial ability of a contract holder to fulfill its obligations has been removed from the proposed regulations. It is proposed that the financial ability of the contract holder be carried forward into the proposed regulations. IOGC is currently reviewing the proposal, please advise if you have any comments or concerns with retaining the clause and inclusion before publication in CGII.

This is an opportunity for industry to review the proposed amendments before they appear on CGII and FNG. Note that IOGC will be providing information sessions that specifically relate to the administration of the regulations, as it relates to industry, after publication in CGII.

The comment period on the regulations in CG1 and FNG is open until August 17, 2018.

If you would like further information on the proposed regulations or on the IOGA, 2009, please contact IOGC by email at contactIOGC@canada.ca.

We thank you in advance for your anticipated participation.

Sincerely,

 

____________________________

Strater Crowfoot
Executive Director and CEO

Date modified:

Le 19 juillet 2018 - Lettre : Commentaires sur le projet de règlement publié au préalable dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I et la Gazette des premières nations

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boulevard Chiila, bureau 100
TsuuT'ina (Alberta)  T2W 6H6
Tél. : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur : 403-292-5618
www.pgic.gc.ca

 

Le 19 juillet 2018

 

Madame, Monsieur,

OBJET : Commentaires sur le projet de règlement publié au préalable dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I et la Gazette des premières nations

Dans ma lettre du 28 juin 2018, je vous invitais à examiner et à commenter, le cas échéant, les modifications apportées à la version prépubliée du projet de règlement qui remplacera intégralement le règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes.

Le projet de règlement vise à moderniser le régime encadrant l'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz sur les terres de réserve des premières Nations au Canada. On peut consulter le projet de règlement et le commenter dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, à l'adresse www.canadagazette.gc.ca et sur le site Web de la Gazette des premières nations à l'adresse www.fng.ca. La période de commentaires s'échelonne du 19 mai 2018 au 17 août 2018.

De plus, Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) a reçu des commentaires à l'égard de quatre rubriques supplémentaires : Recherches documentaires; Vérification par la Prciteière Nation; Ouverture des soumissions; Redevances compensatoires et parties liées, qui sont traitées séparément ci-dessous :

Recherches documentaires

PGIC a reçu des commentaires selon lesquels l'expression « documents contractuels » a une acception trop vaste et pourrait permettre la divulgation par inadvertance de renseignements confidentiels.

Le paragraphe 2(5) prévoit que « toute personne peut demander au ministre d'effectuer des recherches documentaires portant sur des documents contractuels non confidentiels qu'il a en sa possession ». Il est proposé de supprimer le mot « contractuels » et de fournir une liste non exclusive afin de faciliter l'interprétation de la disposition.

PGIC souscrit aux commentaires et propose d'apporter la correction à la version finale avant sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

Vérification par la Première Nation

Une nouvelle disposition du projet de règlement, le paragraphe 86(2), Vérification et examen par la prciteière nation, énonce les critères applicables à la « personne qui effectue la vérification ou l'examen sous le régime de la Loi… » et peut, sans le vouloir, exclure involontairement les vérificateurs ayant déjà été « affiliés » à une société pétrolière ou gazière.

On demande des éclaircissements sur l'interprétation de la disposition, mais on ne propose aucune modification pour le moment.

PGIC souscrit au commentaire et propose de fournir des éclaircissciteents supplémentaires avant la publication de la version finale dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

Ouverture des soumissions

PGIC a reçu des commentaires selon lesquels le délai d'acceptation des soumissions, en ce qui concerne le processus d'appel d'offres, n'est pas réaliste.

Le paragraphe 42(4) stipule que « … dans les sept jours suivant la date de clôture de la période de présentation des soumissions… », le conseil peut aviser le ministre que la soumission la plus élevée est rejetée. On laisse entendre qu'un délai de quinze jours serait un délai plus réaliste pour permettre au conseil de se réunir et de communiquer un tel avis au ministre.

PGIC souscrit aux commentaires et propose de modifier le délai dans la version finale avant sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

Redevances compensatoires et parties liées

PGIC a reçu des commentaires selon lesquels les dispositions relatives à la différence entre les redevances compensatoires payables à l'égard des puits dont le statut est confidentiel par rapport aux puits au statut non confidentiel sont préjudiciables aux premières Nations. De plus, la définition de « personnes liées » en vertu du paragraphe 82(4) devrait être élargie.

Les articles 93 à 102, Production équitable du pétrole et du gaz, prévoient l'envoi d'avis de compensation, décrivant les redevances compensatoires payables, au titulaire du contrat dans des délais différents selon que le statut du puits est confidentiel ou non. Il est proposé qu'un préavis de compensation soit envoyé au titulaire du contrat, dans le cas de puits au statut confidentiel, pour indiquer que les redevances compensatoires doivent être calculées de la même façon que les redevances pour les puits au statut non confidentiel.

Le paragraphe 82(4), Personnes liées, stipule qu'il faut se reporter à « l'article 251 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu… » lorsqu'il est question de définir les « personnes liées ». Il est proposé de modifier la définition de « personnes liées » pour qu'elle se lise comme suit : « personnes liées, personnes affiliées ou sociétés associées… déterminées conformément aux paragraphes 251(2), 251.1(1) et 256(1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu ».

PGIC souscrit aux commentaires et propose d'apporter la correction à la version finale avant sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

PGIC a reçu des commentaires liés à un concept du Règlement sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes de 1995 portant sur la juste valeur marchande.

Les dispositions relatives au concept de la juste valeur marchande, article 4 de l'annexe 1 du règlement de 1995, n'ont pas été présentées dans leur intégralité. Il est proposé que toutes les dispositions soient intégrées au projet de règlement.

PGIC souscrit à la rétroaction et propose d'intégrer le concept, sous la rubrique Juste valeur marchande, avant sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

Outre ce qui précède, PGIC a reçu des commentaires selon lesquels l'alinéa 49(2)g) du règlement de 1995, qui porte sur la capacité financière d'un titulaire de contrat de s'acquitter de ses obligations, a été retiré du projet de règlement. Il est proposé que la capacité financière du titulaire du contrat soit reprise dans le règlement proposé. PGIC examine actuellciteent la proposition. Veuillez nous faire part de vos commentaires ou de vos préoccupations concernant le maintien de la clause et son inclusion avant sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

Il s'agit là d'une occasion offerte à l'industrie d'examiner les modifications proposées avant qu'elles ne figurent dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II et la Gazette des premières nations. Il est à noter que PGIC offrira des séances d'information portant expressément sur l'administration du règlement, en ce qui a trait à l'industrie, après sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

La période de commentaires sur le projet de règlement dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I et la Gazette des premières nations se termine le 17 août 2018.

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le règlement proposé ou sur la LPGI de 2009, veuillez communiquer avec PGIC par courriel à contactIOGC@canada.ca.

Je vous remercie à l'avance de votre participation et vous prie d'agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

 

____________________________

Strater Crowfoot
Directeur administratif et président-directeur général

Date de modification :