Information Letter - Provincial Landowner Notifications

Release Date: 2020-01-06

Industry is required to consult and/or notify landowners when undertaking oil and gas development as part of provincial licencing requirements. Identification of landowners is typically performed by undertaking a review of the certificate of title issued by the province.

As First Nation reserve land is "a tract of land, the legal title to which is vested in Her Majesty, which has been set apart by Her Majesty for the use and benefit of a band", First Nation reserve lands differ from other land in that:

These notifications are to be sent as below and must contain the following information in addition to provincial regulatory requirements:

Landowner notifications sent pursuant to provincial regulatory requirements do not negate or replace Indian Oil and Gas Canada’s consultation and notification requirements for oil and gas development on First Nation reserve lands. These requirements are summarized in the "Environmental Review Form Guide".

Queries concerning this Information Letter are to be directed to:

Manager, Environment
Indian Oil and Gas Canada
100-9911 Chiila Blvd
Tsuut’ina AB T3T 0E1
Telephone: 403-292-5625
Email: aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca

Date modified:

Lettre d’information - Avis aux propriétaires fonciers provinciaux

Date de diffusion : 2020-01-06

L’industrie est tenue de consulter ou d’aviser les propriétaires fonciers lorsqu’elle entreprend des activités d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, conformément aux exigences provinciales en matière de permis. L’examen du certificat de titre délivré par la province permet généralement d’établir qui sont les propriétaires fonciers.

Les terres de réserve des Premières Nations sont une « parcelle de terrain dont Sa Majesté est propriétaire et qu’elle a mise de côté à l’usage et au profit d’une bande ». Les terres de réserve se différencient d’autres terres en ce sens que :

En plus de ce qui est prévu dans les exigences réglementaires provinciales, l’avis aux propriétaires fonciers doit contenir les renseignements suivants :

Les avis aux propriétaires fonciers envoyés conformément aux exigences réglementaires provinciales n’annulent ni ne remplacent les exigences de Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada en matière de consultation et d’avis pour l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière sur les terres de réserve des Premières Nations. Ces exigences sont résumées dans le « Guide pour le formulaire d’examen environnemental ».

Toute question concernant le présent avis doit être adressée à :

Gestionnaire, Environnement
Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada
9911, boul. Chiila (bureau 100)
Tsuut’ina (Alberta) T3T 0E1
Téléphone : 403-292-5625
Courriel : aadnc.contactiogc.aandc@canada.ca

Date de modification :